I taught myself how to crochet!

in #crafts5 years ago

I pulled up a bunch of tutorials and taught myself how to crochet overnight.

I still have a long way to go but I hope to get better with more practice. My friend urged me to join a local club for crochet enthusiasts but I’m shy so I’ll stick with the videos and books for now. My first mission is to crochet a little scarf for @guthrie’s plushie. After that I’d like to make a hacky sack for @kommienezuspadt.

I have images here but next time I’ll try to remember to charge my gimbal so I can share videos of my progress.

Attempt #1

I only got as far as making the chain. I lost count of how many I had done, tried to start over but ended up getting it all knotted up!

Attempt #2

I skipped ahead instead of learning the basics and these are the results. I know, what a mess! I wanted to see if I could create a cool rib stitch. I got the order of knit and purl mixed up and eventually gave up. It was a nice try.

Attempt #3

I then followed another tutorial just for the Tunisian knit stitch. A little rough but not too bad.

Attempt #4

Starting over, I did my best to replicate the same Tunisian knit stitch. I got the hang of it overtime and you can sort of see that my end stitches get a bit tighter than when I first started.

I definitely need to devote more time to this craft to get better but I am curious to know the differences between knitting and crochet. Is one easier than the other? Should I try to knit before committing to one?


I don’t think I did too bad for my first day. What do you think?

Thanks for stopping by!🦊

Sort:  

damn you already have a pattern! nice! <3

Definitely didn't do too bad at all!

And constant restarts are normal, I've pretty much been doing that with a lot of my stuff XD

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 60244.17
ETH 2333.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47