Creating Feather Fans for Smudging Negativity

in #crafts8 years ago


One of my favorite hobbies is making Native inspired Smudging fans to clear ones personal Aura, home and work space of negative vibes.





My Creative Space


This is my creation corner. I have a small room in my home where I have fun creating different items to share with all my followers. You never know what you will find me working on during any given day.



Smudge Fan


Here I am about to put the finishing touches on the handle of this feather fan. This combination of feathers is a customer favorite.


THE ART OF SMUDGING


Smudging Fans were used in ceremonies by Native American and other indigenous cultures throughout the world. The fans were used during smoke baths, to cleanse personal articles, the home and Aura body during sacred ceremonies and shamanic journeying. This is an ancient art of cleansing oneself or others of unwanted energies, as well as, healing and centering rituals.

The main reason for smudging with feathers, is due to the fact that birds are revered by native people because of their closeness with Father God. The spirit of the bird is believed to come through using their feathers in the fans thus connecting the Divine Spirit with Mother Earth during the cleansing ceremony. The feathers actually move the energies from the Aura Body through the sweeping motion, much like that of a bird in flight. This representation is so beautiful and very inspiring as one learns to connect with all of Mother Earth through ancient ways.

The Etheric layer or Aura layer of a person holds the energetic vibrations of everything that one has come in contact with. That includes other peoples vibrations, those found in Nature and those encountered when one is in the Astral realms during meditation or astral traveling.

Practicing Aura cleansing by using “Feather Fans” to clean out your personal space can be done whenever you feel inclined to do so. You will know when it is time to clear yourself and your home if you listen to your inner knowing. (instinct or gut feelings)

(I use the above description on smudging in all my feather fan sales to give my customers a little background on the ritual.)



Fan with Wild Turkey Feathers


This fan is one of my favorites, I combined Wild Turkey and Ring Necked Pheasant feathers for this fan, then added Buckskin from a deer hide I had on hand. The carved, bone beads add a bit of native feel to the ensemble.



Peacock Fan


This fan in purple and teal feathers compliment the Peacock Eyes perfectly. This is also another customer favorite. I have added Quartz Crystal and Amethyst stones wire-wrapped in Copper to this fan.



Goose Feather Fan


This fan was made entirely with Goose feathers. I love how this one resembles the wing of a bird. Very fitting for a smudging ceremony. You can view the complete line of Smudge Fans I have at the moment, by clicking on the Etsy Store link below.

Thank you for stopping by my post on creating feather fans, I hope you enjoyed it.

Until next time, this is Sunscape
Sun. Scape. Ing your day

Previous Posts @sunscape
My Website
My Etsy Store
My Tweets on Twitter

Sort:  

Amazing looking fans they look magical upvoted.

Thank you so much @simonjay I really enjoy making them for others magical moments. ;-)

ahahahhahahhaa!!!!! FML

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53921.46
ETH 2250.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30