Craft with me on a budget: Source materials from the Dollar Store!

in #crafts6 years ago

20180609_113149_0001.png

This weekend I was feeling inspired. I wanted to take some found materials and turn them into beautiful garden decorations. In this post I'll show you how I created these decorations on the cheap!

First, I wandered around the edges of my garden and pulled weeds. As I did so, occasionally I would find little knick knacks and yard decorations from the previous owners. Various things that have been long forgotten and buried in dirt and weeds.

One of those items was a really nice, shiny silver teapot. I knew I could do something with that so I rescued it from its hiding place and cleaned it up.

With that project in mind, I went to the Dollar Tree. The dollar tree gets a bad rep for having cheap shit that's not even worth a buck. That may be true for some of it, but for the most part, the dollar store is a great place to find most items. The craft ailse is a super steal on most stuff. Here's a small list of craft items I've seen or purchased at my dollar tree store. See if any of it inspires you and then head to your local store and stock up! 😄

googly eyes
yarn
smooth rocks
white rocks
colored sand
fake flowers
fake succulents
marbles
butterfly and bird clips
mod podge!!!
hot glue gun refills
vases and decorative bowls
led candles and string lights
mason jars
glitter glue
Stencils

The list could go on and on. They've got loads. Some of it I even purchase and resell for more on Amazon. Its really good quality stuff you guys!

Ok, so for the teapot, I grabbed an artificial succulent and some white rocks. The succulent, luckily was the perfect size to fit in the opening of the teapot without falling through. I just hot glued it in place!

20180611_063331.jpg

Added some rocks and a marble. Plus, a bird for good measure. Hot glue all in place. 💜💜💜

Easy!

Next, I had some decorative bowls from the dollar store. For these, I placed one led candle inside the bowl and then filled around it with rocks, sand and those wicker balls, all from the dollar tree. Total cost for all materials -$8. I was able to make 2 of them and still had rocks and sand leftover. 😍

20180611_062838.jpg
Cool right?

For my last project, I had 2 plain pots that I wanted to decorate. My mom bought these for me, they are not from the dollar tree, but they aren't that expensive. I used some dollar tree materials in my crafting of them though. So let's see!

20180611_063732.jpg

First, I tried stencils and spray paint. That didn't go well and I tried to fix the lettering with acrylic paint. I wasn't happy with how it was turning out though.
20180611_063819.jpg
20180611_063913.jpg
Spray painted some black over the whole thing and started over!

Don't be afraid to fail. You can always wing it! 😉

20180611_063953.jpg
20180611_064025.jpg

For the shooting stars, I crushed up some of the white rock with a hammer. (That's fun times, i highly recommend it). Then I painted on some mod podge in the shape I wanted and sprinkled the crushed rock over the glue. Once it was all dry, I put another coat of mod podge over it to seal everything.
20180611_064157.jpg
I'm really happy with how it turned out in the end! 💜

This last one is my favourite though. I actually set that first one aside after I screwed up the stencil and began working on this one. I love how it turned out. Let's take a look!

20180611_063435.jpg

I didn't get any progress pics of this one, I was in the zone. 🤣

First, I glued the marbles to look like a waterfall. Then I glued the white rocks all around the bottom and sides. Then I glued on the butterfly and painted the scene. Mod podge over the top to seal it and....

20180611_064101.jpg
💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜💜
Looks fancy right?
Don't forget, the butterfly, rocks and marbles are all from the dollar store! 😀

That's how I craft on a budget! Hopefully some of my tips and tricks will help you in your future crafting! Love and light to all who read this!

Join the coolest moms on the blockchain over in our discord chat room. The bar is always open and the jukebox is always playing 😁

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

Great work! My favorite is the shooting star pot.
You are right that you can find some good stuff if you look at the dollar store. Yes, a lot of cheap stuff but also some good finds! When I was in a serious scrapbooking phase and had been spending absurd amounts at the scrapbooking store (yes, we had a just scrapbooking store; they're closed now but I may have kept them in business a while... ), I happened into the dollar store and went ...holy shit! LOL
I've been meaning to get some googly eyes...

You can never have too many googly eyes. 👀

❤ that's a universal truth! ❤

Wow these are genius on a budget crafts!!! I love the dollar store. Some of the items may be cheaply made but we get quite a few things there that we love to use like party supplies, gift bags and tissue paper and tons of art supplies for school!

I really love how you made the stars and I love the waterfall look on the last project!! I love the bowl with the wicker balls and rocks too! Wow great craft posts and thanks for all of the ideas!! You Rock Mama!!! ❤️

Congratulations on getting curated by @steemitmamas!

I really like how you weren't worried whether the piece would turn out perfect or not. It was the fun of doing it and you even managed to start over! If it was me, I would probably spend the whole day trying to decide how and what...etc..hahahaha #steemitmamas

I like dollar store craft items too, especially the tiny little clothes pins. I don’t have a use for them so they end up all over the house - but I still like them.

that is so fucking awesome.. ❤ the tea pot.. but the flower pot with the crushed rock is the show stealer.. ❤❤

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by khackett from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

These are great art work

Lol. “Stencil and paint fail” it’s never as easy as it looks.
Turned out really nice in the end though. Good job! 👍🏽

That's so creative of you. It's even better that you were able to do it all with stuff from the dollar store. That's the way to go if you don't need it to be top of the line. Hopefully you're able to get some good resales on Amazon for some of that stuff.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80