A winter project with the family // Not a Post Story

in #crafts7 years ago

31495F8B-B988-430C-BCAC-E596960594F6.JPG

Tools needed for our project:

  • Sticks
  • Acrylic paints
  • Brushes of different sizes
  • Painters tape
  • Wash cloth

On these long winter days. Sometimes it's tough to get out to the mountains to take some pictures. Especially when the roads are terrible. Rather than risk our lives we decided to stay in the city, but do something creative anyway. A quick stop to the art store for some paint, and a dog walk later to acquire some sticks, we had the beginnings of our little project.

We washed the sticks with a lightly damp cloth, just to take the outer layer of dirt off so that it didn't wreck the paint. I sawed off a couple of the ends to make them more even, but it's totally not necessary.

We used the painters tape to help us make cleaner lines. Although we probably should have had a little more patience, between coats. Oh well. Some of them turned out better than others.

783F5B25-0D6C-497F-A23F-E4865F863D2E.JPG

D734A489-05D9-45F9-8CF8-56A2DE2BBAB0.JPG

1E491B58-2172-4700-9BE1-7A6A8F7E0975.JPG

02D5221F-67EE-4627-8CB4-3F819B648508.JPG

I have no idea what we'll use them for, maybe I'll get around to hanging some. Either way it took us a few hours, and it took our minds off the fact we weren't outside. Better yet - I have something to share on Steemit :) .

(I also used a few of my new mark-up skills I learned this am from @carrieallen & @meno. Thanks both!)


All photos are taken by me. If you like the photo or/and story drop me an updoot or a comment!
If you want to see more make sure you follow @jfolkmann
Thanks!

Sort:  

You can make wind chimes out of them....they would have a woody sound but would still be nice.

Doing crafts with the kids will be one of those memories that stay.

That's a great idea! Fun to hang in the garden.

I have some bamboo chimes. They are muted, but I think they sound nice. They're a little easier and more peaceful for me to listen to. I'll bet a chime made out of these would be fun to do!

That seems like a pretty good way to spend a winter afternoon, and the results are more interesting than I would have expected.

Agreed. We weren't sure how they'd turn out either.

These are really nice @jfolkmann! I think a wind chime or some kind of hanging mobile would be really cool to look at! Thanks for sharing :D

I'm going to give it a try.

Great project with typically great photos. I particularly like the yellow and blue ones.

I have no idea what to do with them except maybe garden sculpture. Real art doesn't need a purpose.

That's true. It doesn't....but it does need a space to show it. Otherwise it just sits on my floor :)

What a fun project! Mixing nature and art is right up my alley! I especially like the blue and yellow one. Besides the color, I think the interesting shape caught my eye.

I did an article on art today and shared this post. I think a lot of Steemians would have with this project. You can find the post here if you'd like to take a look!

Thanks for the excellent post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33