My "Vintage" Sewing Years: Part 2 Wooden Spoon Dolls

in #crafts7 years ago

My "Vintage" Sewing Years: Part 2 Wooden Spoon Dolls

One of the crafts I loved to make were hand-made Wooden Spoon Dolls. Yes, that would be your plain, ordinary kitchen wooden spoons (new and unused, of course).

First I created a small wooden square base and drilled out a hole the same diameter as the 'pole' end of the wooden spoon. After sanding smooth, I glued the spoon into the base an let dry overnight. The hands are made from parts of small wooden ice cream 'spoons'.

The next day I would paint the face, and start creating the "look" of the doll with the hair and clothing. I made all of these by hand, including the clothing, hats and accessories.

This is a group shot of some of the Wooden Spoon Dolls I made, which were then sold in the Fall and Christmas Craft sales. They are unique, one-of-a-kind Collector Dolls, and each one took about 3 days to craft.

Please excuse the quality of the photos - I was a horrible photographer in those days and the photos are quite old.

One of my favourites, my version of Scarlett O'Hara from Gone With the Wind. She has 3 layers of skirts, complete with a green hoop under-layer; a beige underskirt and green and beige dress with green velvet sash, and matching hat tied with a wide white ribbon. The hair is yarn sewn into ringlets and glued to the spoon "head".


Another favourite, Lady in Peach Dress with Fan. The dress is peach silk with lace trim and has a hoop underskirt also in peach. She has a matching hat with rust-coloured feather; and a matching rust-feather fan with lace.



In the background is the Lady with Parasol, dressed in blue and yellow with a "hoop" underskirt. I wish I'd thought to take more photos of her.


This pair - a Bride and her Bridesmaid - were the first to be sold at the craft fair - to a bridesmaid, who bought them for a Wedding Shower for her friend who was getting married.


The Bridesmaid is wearing a pink lace dress and matching hat, and is carrying a small bouquet of pink and white silk flowers.

The Bride took the longest to make. She is wearing a white satin gown embroidered with white thread. The dress has a small train and lace down the bodice and around the hem. The headpiece and veil are white gauze and tiny white silk flowers held at the sides with white and silver lace roses. The Bride's bouquet is made from pink and white silk flowers, and has white and silver gauze ribbons and bow.

If you'd like to participate in the @michelle.gent Saturday Craft - Make or Bake post series, create your own post showing what you have made - or baked, and post using the tag #make-orbake. (Please note this is only for crafts or baking, NOT photography or writing!)

Sort:  

Well, they're simply amazing!

You're so clever!

Thank you so much! The next post will be on Burlap Figures ... they were probably the most difficult ones to make, but I loved creating them! xox

The bride caught my attention straight away but they’re all wonderful thank you for sharing.

Thank you so much; your support and comments are so much appreciated. :)

You are so talented. And that has to require so much patience. Very impressive.

Thank you for your kind comment. (I think you forgot to vote? But I'm sure that was an oversight.) I've just put up my post on Burlap Figures if you're interested. :)

an oversight indeed. But easily corrected. I used burlap as a teenager to hook small scrap material into and create small rugs. But I didn't have a camera back then. No one in my family did.

Thanks so much for the upvote; it's much appreciated. That's fascinating about creating rugs with burlap as the backing - it's too bad you don't have any pictures of that. I must apologize for the poor quality of my old photos. They were taken with the first camera I ever purchased from money I earned working. I have a much better quality camera now and have vastly improved my photo-taking skills, lol.

you are an artist!! check my profile and see the things I do @erickyoussif

If you liked my post enough to comment, you should have given it an upvote. Your comment is spam, which can get you flagged. I see that you just joined this month, so will give you the benefit of the doubt this time. Please click the horizontal bars beside your profile picture (top right of page), and read the Welcome and FAQ sections so you know how Steemit works and the guidelines to follow.

sorry my friend!!!.... I just vote!! thanks for the advice!! have a nice day!!

Thank you for coming back to vote; I do appreciate that. Since you are new, perhaps you might want to check out @dolphinschool posts - they are awesome for people just starting out, and they just finished a 10-day intensive course that was very impressive. It would definitely be worth your while to take a look and follow them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64401.36
ETH 2627.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83