DIY. Easy relief flower with acrylic paint ( ALSO FUN FOR KIDS)

in #crafting8 years ago

Today I want to show you how to make a relief flower using your fingers and acrylic paint! 


If you have kids this might be fun for them to try as well BUT... It does take time because you have to let it dry between sessions and most kids... :D So you can make them stop after round one while you give your own work a second layer of paint! So, lets get started! 



Need : * canvas board.
            *Acrylic paint in the colors you want to use. ( I used red, blue and yellow)
            * A pencil to draw a flower on your board.
            * YOUR FINGERS! (( Wiggles fingers))
            * Latex gloves for those who don't like messy fingers! ( Come on, just dip those fingers in the paint) 


Start by drawing a simple flower on your canvas board! This does not need to be done nice and neat because you will not see it again after you are done. It's just to give you a better idea where to put your paint.
Start with the middle of the flower bu putting some paint on your finger. I just squeezed the tube straight onto my finger.



Just press your finger down and lift it up!
The more paint you use the thicker your flower will become.


Keep repeating until your whole middle section of the flower is done!
Next step is to was your fingers! I think I don't have to explain how to use a water tap and some soap! 


Now you going to use a new color to make the petals of your flower. Make sure to press hard enough to make both colors touch each other but not mix! 


Keep going and going! Yes, now this looks weird because you don't see lines between the petals but trust me, just keep going we will fix this later! 


If you are done with the flower, wash your hands again and start filling in everything around your flower. I used blue for this! Again, don't worry about the lines of the flower petals .
Now the waiting starts! And trust me, this will take hours and hours because the paint needs to dry! I let mine dry over night, at least 12 hours it took. Because you use loads of paint it will not dry as fast as when you just brush it on. 


When it was dry enough I used a brush and some blue paint to make the petals and I let it dry for a bout a hour.  You can already see how the paint dried up at the blue color on this picture!
Now its time to put on a second layer of paint.
I wanted the middle part to be a swirl so I pushed the paint on the straight from the tube and made it go round but you can also just just use your fingers. The edges of the flower petals I did the same but only the lines! The rest of the petals I filled up with my fingers. I used a little brush to make sure I filled every spot!
Now the really long waiting starts. Because you used a even thicker amount of paint!
It took my flower almost 2 days to dry up fully! So put it on a place where its safe! 


Here you can see how thick my flower became while the paint was still wet! I hope that will give an idea on how much paint you should use! 


This is the dry flower! I used a little brush to put a few tiny red dots in the Yellow part! 
And there you go, you made a wonderful relief flower with your own fingers!

If you enjoyed watching my artwork, the tutorials I share, want to ask me something or want advice, want to give me some advice, feel free to leave a reply and I will get back to you as soon as possible. If you create something from your heart inspired by my tutorials it would be great to see the end result in the replies.
Don't forget to push the follow button! Replies are really appreciated.

Happy crafting! 
@Poeticsnake   

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, look at the texture on that! What fun! Of course, if I tried that I'd probably have more paint on me than on canvas. Reminds me of my cream cheese experience... LOL I may have to write about that one. :D

Haha, trust me I had a lot of it on me as well. I should have taken a picture of my hand and wrist and nose. I got a itch ... Yeah... And yes please write about your cream cheese!

This looks a fun mess :) beautiful

Oh yes it was a fun mess! Thank you :D

Nice! Very artistic! More!

Thank you so so much! I am already working on some more projects to share later this year!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87