DIY. Create your own gift box with old magazines.

in #crafting8 years ago

When I saw this I had to make it! Imagine giving these cool boxes to your family and friends on special days like Christmas? Nothing beats a handmade gift in my eyes. You can even fill them with more gifts if you like. To create this you will need time! It's not a real quick progress but the end result truly is amazing.


Lets get started. 

Need: * Old magazines pages.
           * scissors
           * Glue that will really stick.
           * Time and patience!
           * Coffee/tea and or snacks just for fun!


Start with pulling the pages from the middle of the magazine and cut them in the middle, so you will end up with one page only like on this picture. You are going to use the long side of the page so place that towards you. 


Lift the paper up and use about 1 cm ( Thumb thickness) to fold. 


Roll it up and push it flat! I rolled it 5 times before I pushed the paper down as you can see on this picture!


After rolling 5 times you put some glue on your paper and roll it on more time. Push the paper down hard and make sure you use enough glue.



Cut off the paper you did not use and you will end up with a flat role like this. Don't throw away the excess paper you will need it later! 


To create the bottom of your box you start by putting glue on one roll and roll it up, all the way. You glue one more roll and roll it over the first one. Keep doing this until you think your bottom is big enough. Roll it up as tight as you can and use enough glue to really make it stick. To create my bottom it took about 15 minutes. I placed three rolls before me on the table, glued the whole roll and started to roll them up like winding up a JOJO. You can do one by one but I always feel that my glue works a bit better when it had some air and is at the point of drying. 


For this step I used the cover of the magazine because most of the time that paper is a bit thicker and stronger and I wanted a solid base to work on. Cut two strokes of paper in the length you want, the bigger the higher your box will become. Put glue on the outside of your bottom and roll this paper around it. Put glue on your second piece of paper, not only the sides but the whole paper ( It will make it even stronger.) And roll the second piece of paper around it as well. 


This is how your little box will look now on the inside. While you put this aside your can work on making some new rolls to create to outside of the box. 


For this step we use the paper that we have cut off making the first rolls. Use the same method only make them smaller. I made about 15 smaller rolls but you can also measure how many you will need to cover the whole outside of your box. 


Put the smaller rolls before you and glue them on top. Start at the bottom and roll it around your box. Cut off the excess paper and work your way up like this.


 I started my rolls all on one side of the box but made them jump a little like you would see if you look at a brick wall. I did this because I did not wanted one big line where the box would be weaker. But I started them all close at each other. 


I personally did not like to see the parts where I started to roll them around the box so I found a picture that I liked and glued it over it! 


To create the lid of your box you repeat all these steps! Just make sure your roll will be a tad bigger than your box otherwise it will not fit. For the lid I used two rolls of the bigger shapes because I liked the contrast of smaller and bigger rolls.


And there you go! You created your own gift box! You make them as big as you like or really small.
Do not throw away the rest of your magazines because soon we will create something else with them as well! 


If you enjoyed watching my artwork, the tutorials I share, want to ask me something or want advice, want to give me some advice, feel free to leave a reply and I will get back to you as soon as possible. If you create something from your heart inspired by my tutorials it would be great to see the end result in the replies.

Don't forget to push the follow button! Replies are really appreciated.

Happy crafting! 
@Poeticsnake   

Sort:  

Great idea @poeticsnake!
Think these would work for ashtrays? hehe

Ha, i wish i could say yes but Nope... seriously don't think so! Lmao...

Haha, Oh well.

I mean you can always try it out, flames can be very crafty and shit. Lol

True...Maybe photograph it with a polaroid and call it modern art! haha

This looks amazing! I would love to get a gift like that!

Me too! If someone made this for me I would be very grateful and happy!

Nice post! I nominated you for project curie! :)

Thank you so so much! That is really amazing! :D

What another great gift idea!
I don't think I've bought a magazine in years, but I'm always seeing them in recycle bins, doctor's offices, and flea markets. hmm....
No. I can't! My husband thinks I'm crazy because I suddenly want art/ drawing supplies after wanting them, like never. lol

You can also use news paper or those commercial papers you get at home from the shops. And you should pick those magazines up because trust me, if you already liked this idea, the next one will make you jump with joy to make it!

Thank you kindly! It was amazing to make this box! Keep your eyes open because I am going to make a few more things out of old paper!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59893.00
ETH 2414.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43