Craft Beer Saturday - Fudge Stout

in #craftbeer7 years ago

Another Beer Saturday is here and I am coming with the best I can find!

I realize I have been on quite a St. Louis beer tear recently, but they really are putting out some great beer.

I managed to grab one of these Prodigal from Perennial Artisan Ales. It came with a heavy price tag but I had heard good reviews and decided to invest in one. Perennial does have a good reputation for stouts with their annual Sump and Abraxas releases. This one turned out to be on the same par with those annual releases.

It was a 10.6% Imperial Oatmeal Milk Stout. It was smooth, creamy, and dreamy. Huge amount of roasted barley and coffee flavor, but the crazy amount of fudge flavor really stole the show. It was immensely decadent, it drank smoothly but still was quite a sipper. I thought the bottle would never end, and was very happy this was the case! I really liked the addition of Madagsacar vanilla beans as well, it just made the beer more well rounded instead of being just another fudge bomb.

Check out their website - http://www.perennialbeer.com/

Cheers everyone! Happy #beersaturday!

Sort:  

2/2

Thank you for your post. :) I have voted for you: 🎁! To call me just write @contentvoter in a comment.

Hello contentvoter, I tried it in my comment but I got no response. So I'm thinking if one has to first obtain some kind of membership. Thanks!

Interesting sounding beer. I have have a few chocolate stouts but this sounds like it has much more chocolate flavor.

That looks like a very tasty brew indeed! I've done a chocolate oak stout before that turned out amazing. I've always wanted to do something with vanilla bean but haven't gone through with it. Well enjoy your brew!

Yea, same here. I heard you need to soak the vanilla beans in alcohol beforehand...just haven't got into it yet.

Thank you sir! This receives an upvote! Very interesting and looks delicious!

Saw you in the #beersaturday thread, pretty good lineup this week!

I have a few more to post. Been a little
Busy this week but I will make up for it next week!

That is one classy looking bottle, I also love that glass, you have oured it perfect to get the wheat(?) on the head. The beer sounds also silky in texture.

It was definitely a classy beer, made me feel like wearing a suit and like I was in some dimly lit piano bar

Great choice of glass for that beer. I thought it was a bottle of wine at first.

Yea, this is my favorite glass. It is called a "Teku" which is just a wine glass but shaped for beer. Whenever I get one of these fancy Barrel-aged beers or big stouts, I love using this glass for it.

You just planted 1.29 tree(s)!


Thanks to @bradlovesbeer

We have planted already 4348.96 trees
out of 1,000,000


Let's save and restore Abongphen Highland Forest
in Cameroonian village Kedjom-Keku!
Plant trees with @treeplanter and get paid for it!
My Steem Power = 20729.21
Thanks a lot!
@martin.mikes coordinator of @kedjom-keku
treeplantermessage_ok.png

Ohhhhh mannnn that! Is exactly what I need in life! Great post!

Smooth, creamy and dreamy... Well that's tempting. :D It does look delicious.

Looks tasty. I had myself a craft beer Saturday as well, headed over to 2 Brothers in Warrenville. I'd been to the Aurora location before but this was my first time to warrenville. Had a couple beers which were pretty rough, we compared them to licking someone's armpit, however I had a Pineapple Sour which was amazing. I don't know I could ever drink a full pint of sours but I love sampling them.

I have not been there for years. I used to work for a company near there and we'd stop by the "Roundhouse" occasionally. Sorry you had a few stinkers. At least you came out with a fav though!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62984.76
ETH 2472.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55