The Birth of a blade 5 , the Lupine sabresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #craft7 years ago

The new year is almost upon us, and with it, the traditional new year celebrations.

Two thing that are inevitable are the fireworks and the champagne, so I had to have myself a champagne sabre.
It is based on a blade that was damaged during heat treat and thus had to be shortened. I chose a profile that was close to a cutlass or maybe even a falchion.

The handle was given a Lupine theme with wolf-heads in cast bronze. The wolf was one I had made a long time ago for a messer pommel so it needed a little modification

I made the handle from a piece of Elm tree I had from a previous project, its deep cool brown looks really good with the polished bronze, I think.

I have been working on it during ny vacation to make sure it is ready for new yaers eve, now lets see if I get a chance to use it

Happy new year everybody.


Im EvilHippie, a compulsive creative and jack o' trades. if you want to know more about me, check out my introduction post here

If you like what you see, feel free to upvote, follow and resteem

Sort:  

That is a nice looking sword. How are the handle pieces held onto the tang? Also, did you cast the bronze yourself or did you have it done?

Thank you. The pommel is peened on and the handle scales are glued from either side, with epoxy. There are numerous ways to do it but gluing and peening is the most traditonal. For a real sword, that would see action, i would also, put leather or string around, but this one doesnt need that kind of reinforcement. I cast bronze myself, using sand molds, I think I have a post about that , but I might do another one with more details.

Cool, Thanks for explaining. So that little bump on the top of the wolf's head is the end of the tang?

yes exactly

Congratulations @evilhippie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69500.15
ETH 3394.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75