Stainless Steel knife.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #craft7 years ago

http://evilhippie.dk/Misc/Steemit/2017_07/peterkniv.png
On the way home from Japan in connection with our recent vacation, I spent 10 hours in a plane. My back really didnt like that so I have had to take a day at home to try and get over it. Since I wont be able to do my favourite thing in the world(which is hammering redhot steel into swords and knives) I can do the second best thing, and that is posting about my projects here on Steemit.
This image is of a knife a made a few month back. it was one of my rare commercial projects, and one where I was not the designer , only the craftsman. It was my cousins wife who wanted to give him a very special knife for his 40th birthday.
it needed to be a rugged knife that could take a beating and still hold the edge. It also had to be stainless.
I usually dont work in stainless steel. it is not good for swords (no matter what some people may tell you.) it is far to hard and not felxible enough. it is however, if you choose the right stainless, excellent for knives. I chose sandvik 12C27 for this knife and it turned out to be an excellent choice. Its a steel made specifically for knivee and allthough it is not completely stainless it is quite corrosion resistant, can get very very sharp and if heat treated properly will hold the edge for a long time.
The handle is made from brass, yew and a piece of Elm from an elmtree which stood in teh garden of his childhood home.
We wanted this to be a very personal knife so we agreed that each of his 3 kids would make a drawing of a star and I would scale these down and etch them into the blade. I think it turned out very nice. He was very happy with the gift and his wife was very happy with the work.
One thing that was a little special was that she wanted to do as much of the work as possible so I ddidnt finish the knife. I made the blade and roughly finished the handle and the scabbard and she did the rest. It made the process a bit more complicated but it worked fine and It made the gift even more personal since she was also a part in making it. I am very happy with the result , what do you think?

Sort:  

beautiful craftsmenship.
post a few more pics!

I love the little star engravings in the knife, they make it look really unique. Thanks for sharing!

Youre welcome. Its actually comparatively easy to make etchings on steel, even stainless like this. all you need is some salt water and a small electrical current. I will make a post about how its done soon.

i appreciate your effort sir the knife you created looks so attractive and beautiful.

I know about swords and stainless and that twing... twing.. twing sound they make as they snap.

I would like to know your opinion on steel types for rugged outdoor, always carry with you knives. Stainless is nice, especially for long term messy jobs. But, I have found good high carbon steels almost never rust if clean and store them well.

Please write more about metal selections for blades. Thanks

I agree. If looked after there is no problem at all in using a low alloyed high carbon steel. That would also be my choice for an everydaycarry knife. However there are some really good modern martensitic stainless steels out there. I will try to remember making a post about steel types. It is an interesting topic , and one that im very interested in myself.

Stainless steel is a bit hard material and tough to work. Harder then mild steel.

Yes it is very hard. I dont forge on this type of steel I only use so called stockremoval technique. that is grinding.

Good that's the right way.

Knife looks epic! Especially the handle.

I love the way you show the steps you take to create the finished sketch. Your posts are like a learn to draw book @evilhippie

Nice looking blade

Really a wife who is very considerate of her husband, I really like a romantic husband and wife even though age is old and knee can not move if get a wife understanding do not you disappoint even a little scratch heart because he can make us the spirit

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 61940.19
ETH 2433.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50