I am an Artisan

in #craft7 years ago

arti.jpg

You know me as someone whose creative outlet is taking pictures of herself. Even though that is a big part of my creativeness, making something with my hands is lot more important to me. I am an artisan to the core.

I knit, do macrame, bake, cook and dabble with numerous other things. I like to try new kind of handicrafts but knitting wool socks is and forever will be my favorite thing. And I'm pretty darn good at it.

I long for the good old times when artisans of different fields were valued really highly in society. Nowadays nobody wants to buy high quality, hand made items, when you can by a similar thing made in China, with the fraction of the price. This society is broken. I've never sold anything I made because no one would be willing to pay any decent money for them. The materials I use are often not that expensive but it takes a lot of hours to get, for example, a pair of socks ready. The ones below took anywhere between 100-200 hours, and I'm pretty fast. It's getting close to the time when I have to start making Christmas gifts but I'm never inspired to knit when the weather is still warm.

I love gifting my creations to loved ones, people who know and appreciate the time and effort it took to make that gift for them. And almost always, that item is specially made just for that person, fit to size, color preference etcetera. If you have ever gotten a pair of mittens or wool socks from me, know that you are very important to me.

Now you know a lot more about me as a real person, no illusion here.

arti3.jpg

My small apartment is an absolute mess most of the time because I always have some new projects going on..

arti2.jpg

PS. Shamelessly tried to lure you in here with the booty, did it work?

Sort:  

I came just to check in on you, but the booty was a nice reward. Love this post...revealing more of the real life you. Hope to see more of your crafts featured. Do you sell on Etsy or anything?

So sweet of you to come check in on me :) No I do not sell my crafts anywhere, and wouldn't even want to make it in to a job. Crafting is probably the same to me as yoga is to you.

I understand that. Probably is similar...

The wool socks is of high quality, your a woman of many talent. You have shown us another side of you today. Your amazing pretty Angel. Nice work as usual,upvoted.

It is very unfortunate, that we live in a time, where a lot of people no longer recognize real value.

It can be very rewarding, to create something with your hands and get lost in doing so with your full heart and mind. But that makes it even more disappointing, when people seem no longer able to distinguish the value between your carefully crafted treasure and some mass product.

As a painter I sometimes get disappointed for the same reasons. People buy a 3x4ft original painting at some furniture store for 30 bucks... why would anyone care to pay a vast multiple of that, just because some guy spent countless hours painting something. And builds a one of a kind custom made frame for his painting on top of that...

So why continue to do what we do?

Passion? The inner drive and the love of doing it? I am certain, that this is a big part of it. But there is this other aspect as well, and you even mention it. Not everyone around us is ignorant and there are these select few, who can see the value of your creation, the love and devotion that went into it. And they are the ones who matter in this context.

I really enjoyed reading this post... probably some ten times within the past days. Your legs are divine, even with wool socks. Thank you for luring me in and disillusioning me by showing a little bit of your real self.

Passion indeed... Ignorance abounds yet honest beauty, and bold creativity, which manifests itself in the truest of all the most meaningful powers, rules the ages...

Got lost into reading what you'd written.. indeed society is more into wanting things now, than the old traditional valued, when you know it's made with time & care :)

I absolutely love your photos

Thank you king of ___ :)

Let's leave it blank for now

yep, have to admit.... the booty definitely lured me here
LOL ;)
It seems you have some horns beneath that halo of yours....
Nice knowing you are multi-talented

Shamelessly tried to lure you in here with the booty, did it work?

Yes, but I read to the end of the post to see the socks. ;-)

Good for you, the socks are the best part!

Your priorities change as you get older.

There have been times when a good pair of socks lasted longer and provided more happiness than a relationship.

You can't beat a nice pair of socks. ;-)

You got that right girl! ... ;)

Getting too late... will come back for a comment tomorrow if you care :-) (click... sorry for the micro impact. Will soon be more I hope ;-) )

Nope, didn't work... I came for the content!.... Love those "sockings" btw... ;)

Nice word you invented, I might have to steal that one! :)

It won't be the only thing you've stolen from me... lol....

:-D funny - I like the chair! And what you say about the "decent" money is unfortunatly true.... people want everything, always and cheap.

I love the chair, best purchase I ever made!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63483.25
ETH 2601.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81