Mini Server Gets a Stately Makeover

in #craft7 years ago

Picked up this little guy. I am always working with same colors, light colors but I got a new color from Fusion Mineral Paint and wanted to try it on this guy. I was seeing Navy and Gold.
Time: 2 Days
Cost: $25
Difficulty: Advanced
mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover.jpg
Of Course, first step is always cleaning. I used Krud Kutter on this piece followed by a wipe down of vinegar and water mix.
mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover2.jpg
I started paint him, Luke is his name by the way, and I really was digging that wood grain. it was in good shape so I didn't want it to be completely covered and I also wanted it to complement the top because the top I was going to keep wood. I used Fusion Mineral paint in Midnight Blue. I started on the edges here, and because I started on the edges and worked my way in, blending, the doors are left on. Sometimes, I take them off, sometimes I don't. Everyone has their own way of doing things. I don't think there is a wrong way to paint - it's art. anyway, I loaded my brush up with some paint, I started at the edges and worked my way inward, towards the center. As I approached the center, I put less and less pressure on the brush so I was barely even painting by time I got to the center. I wasn't sure what I was doing with handles so I put them back on after I finished cleaning.
mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover3.jpg
close up of the doors
I ended up sanding down the top and staining it. My cat put a nice scratch in the original finish that was in great shape so... there goes that idea! I stained it with Unicorn Spit in Rustic Reality and sealed with an oil based sealer. Minwax wipe on in satin.

Sorry I don't have any process photos for this.
mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover5.jpg
Fusion Mineral Paint also has a top coat built in. Their paint is fabulous and is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. I distressed the piece right away because once Fusion dries, you need tons of elbow grease to get it off! lol. After that, I waited a day or two and then I added the gold. I used rub n buff to go over the raised details on this piece... I just used my fingertip!
mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover6.jpg
more gold detail.mini-server-gets-a-stately-makeover7.jpg
The Final Product... Luke! My stately server.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63017.22
ETH 2457.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61