You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My new 3D Printer arrived. Its a CR-10 :)

in #cr-107 years ago

First prints are very seldom very good, for a number of reasons – but largely because an individual installation of a printer has a lot of variables. How it's seated, what the airflow is like around it. How warm the room is. How quickly the room warms up once the printer gets going. The moisture level of the filament that you're using. The moisture level of the air in the room.

And for all of these things you can adjust various variables within the printing process itself, from the temperature of extrusion to the rate of extrusion to the rate of retraction to the retraction distance – there are a lot of things.

So first prints are usually not very good at all. Which is generally why we don't start with 19 hour prints.

I generally start with something that takes less than 30 minutes, just to make sure that I have my calibration in my first layers generally ready to go, and then I move on to more complicated pieces which take more time before I know if they have failed. Early on with a new printer you want to fail early and fail often if you're going to fail at all.

You will get it eventually! The CR 10 is extremely well regarded, so you're starting from a good place.

Sort:  

Yes this experience i made. Like I told I have to try some things out :) The problem about is that I do not have so much time to play around with the settings. I will post to you when my print results are good and I show you how it works :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64686.77
ETH 3158.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57