Restrictions lifted and new ones put in place in Vietnam

in #covid3 years ago

We all celebrated a bit two days ago when it was announced in a very strangely worded official posting about businesses being allowed to open again here in Da Nang. The beach is open again finally, and of course people have been piling on this even though it has restricted hours.

There are daytime hours that because: reasons, people are not allowed on the beach but the surfers just seem to ignore this and the officials let them get away with it... which is cool of them I guess. I don't understand the partial opening of a public space instead of just opening it fully. I don't make the rules!


src

I have to say that it does seem quite silly to see people swimming in the water with masks on though. It remains unclear (to me) if masks are still required in public but when I walk around I notice that about 50% of people are still wearing them. I believe it is voluntary but I don't want to get a massive fine for being wrong about this so I keep one under my chin or in my pocket at all times just in case.

When we met yesterday at a bar we noticed that while the bar was open, their outdoor furniture consisted of folding chairs instead of the usual comfortable chairs that this place we frequent normally has and when we inquired as to why that is they said that the "police told us we have to do that." Ok, well what sense does it make whether or not you are sitting on an uncomfortably wooden folding chair or a comfortable metal chair with a cushion on it? I'm searching my mind here and the only semi-logical thing I can come up with is that the government didn't really want to open yet but did so because the poorer people who own little noodle stands and street stalls are really starting to suffer and this proposal was made in order to allow street food vendors who normally have inexpensive plastic chairs to be the first places to open up.


src

Something like this is a type of eatery that you an find all over the place. I am very pleased that these places are open again because I do like to be able to get lunch for a dollar but the bars that I go to it just seems silly. I mean, the place is open, it is obviously open and the areas around the actual bar are packed with people that are sitting on barstools (with cushions) yet anyone who wants to sit outside has to do so uncomfortably.

Another restriction that was put in place is particularly annoying and that is that all restaurants and bars are required to close at 9pm now. This even applies to places that don't have and never did have, dine-in facilities such as take away burger and pizza places.

I found this out last night when upon leaving the bar I was at around 9:15 with the intention of getting some food on the way home - which is how I normally handle my drinking sessions, I found myself unable to get anything to eat because everything was shut.

So I was subjected to those instant noodles from a minimart, which unlike the restaurants are NOT required to close at 9pm.

I swear, these regulations are just so mind-bogglingly silly that I can't even imagine the thought process that goes into them. If Covid can actually spread the way we are told that it does, what difference is it going to make if I am in a take away pizza place or a minimart? There just isn't any logic to it all.

I guess it is time for me to stock up on food in my house. It's probably better (less terrible) for me anyway. I really long for the day what we can put all of this behind us.

Two weeks to flatten the curve right? Says the officials 18 months ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82