You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: WASHINGTON STATE COVID-19 RESPONSE

in #covid4 years ago

I think we're "relatively well off" in Washington.

Is Covid deadly? Sure. And particularly to certain at-risk groups.

My impression — as more and more data becomes available — is that the mortality rates are grossly overstated. That is, there's increasing evidence that many multiples of the official infection counts are actually infected. The broad-based community testing done in Santa Clara County, CA suggested something on the order of 25-60 times as many people as originally thought may actually be/have been infected. That, and the fact that as much as 60-75% of "infected" people show no symptoms whatsoever, meaning they are just walking around, spreading Covid-19 while being none the wiser.

Of course, the other side of that equation is that now we're suddenly looking at an illness that actually is deadly only to a tiny fraction of the total infected count. A tiny fraction that would not have warranted the level of shutdowns we have seen.

Of course, not sure if anyone from officialdom is going to step forward and "own" that one...

Sort:  

Totally think we are doing well, there is a quiet but growing theory that it circulated here in January

There was a time in the early part of the year that all the boys in my care, and all the other staff in the house got completely knocked out by a virus. I remember lying in bed for days hardly able to move. I have a suspicion it was not just a coincidental occurrence.

I'm still taking precautions, as I'm technically an essential 'healthcare' worker, working with people who need supported living. I have to set the example for the sake of the business I work for and its reputation in the community.

We were really sick in January and so were a lot of people I know. I was sick for 9 days, felt better for 3 and it hit me again.

Several people I know went to the hospital and tested negative for Flu. At first people thought it wasn't possible, but now that they are testing for antibodies, they are more inclined to think it might have circulated earlier than we knew.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51