Cover a Steemian - "Children Of The Night" by Dino Romanelli - by @laviq

in #coverasteemian6 years ago

It's been some time since I listened to last week's #CoverASteemian by @Paintingangels that I paid attention to @DinoRomanelli.

I might be playing classical guitar, but I really fall for this kind of classic rock music with these strong lyrics. So when I listened to his #openmic submission for this week I needed so badly to make a cover of this song.

As I was listening to this song so many ideas were popping in my mind. Like a madman I forgot everything I was doing and for the last 10 hours or so I float into inspiration. I recorded the acoustic guitar, sequenced some drums, bass, keys, recorded electric guitars, backing vocals, edited, edited, edited....

Finally over my backing track I recorded the main vocals live. I don't really care about this post if it is correct or wrong.

I like it! I just hope @DinoRomanelli likes it too.

Enjoy:

And of course the original:

CHILDREN OF THE NIGHT
Words & Music by DINO ROMANELLI

She was just fifteen
And living on the street
She'd sleep with anyone who'd let her crash
And give her food to eat
She liked to stay up every night
And pummel speed into her brain
She didn't give a damn
And hoped that she would go insane
She left her folks behind her
In the days last fading light
And hit the streets to join up
With the children of the night

Johnny ran scared
From his daddy one day
He took off for the state liner
In a stolen Chevrolet
He took his father's beatings
From an early, early age
He ran off on his own
Filled up with his own kind of rage
With his daddy's stolen pistol
He felt ready for the fight
He hit the road and joined up
With the children of the night

Billy and Angie
Shared a special kind of love
The way their parents kept them down
They felt they'd never rise above
Her daddy said girl,
You'll never see that boy again
What you're doing with your life
Well it ain't nothing but a sin
They took off one night together
And they headed out of sight
And loved each other out there
With the children of the night

© Affordable Music, BMI

Thank you @pechichemena for this great initiative! (But I would have done this cover anyway! :) )

Sort:  

Your post was resteemed by @resteemza
Please upvote this reply to help us grow

Resteemza image small.jpg

Join us on discord:
discord invite

This is badass. I LOVE it. I think Dino is going to love it too!! Your voice is so cool, very kind of 70's feel to this... everything about it is amazing! Esp the guitar, wow. Well and esp your voice. May I just say, holy crap!! And I'll be on my way. WELL DONE! ♥♥♥

Thank you very much! :)

ohhhh , interesting version @laviq ! It's very cool to see how a song can change so much when imbued by someone else's interpretation :) ! Your version has a more David Bowie and Depeche mode influence to it :p , good job on the production! Editing can be so much work! Thank you for putting the extra effort and sharing this with us :) ! Resteemed , I'll be sending some upvote love ;) . Cheers! #coverasteemian

Thank you! (I see now that the drums are not present in the end, but anyway, I will do a flac file for dsound at some point for better quality and I will put them back in the mix...)

the eternal journey for the perfect mix :P

Wow, brother! I cannot tell you how honored and moved I am by this. What an unexpected and beautiful surprise this is!!!! You took my little guitar riff and made it into pretty much a symphony! I'm so glad that my song has moved you to do this. I love every bit of it, and I especially love the care and detail you used in making this so much bigger than I ever could have. This is the best part of writing a song...when it touches someone strongly enough for you to do what you have done here. Magnificent, my friend! A MILLION thanks to you!

It's not a "little guitar riff"...you make diamonds!! I rarely find diamonds...so when I saw this one I just needed to polish it. This song is equivalent to "Temple of the king" or "Child in time" in 2018...just the times have changed (and of course I can't do such a good polishing). Keep up the good work!

This post has been voted on from MSP3K courtesy of @Scuzzy from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60973.26
ETH 2366.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58