You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: It Takes Courage to Walk Away From Something You Believe in

in #courage6 years ago

I'm convinced that about half of what separates the successful entrepreneurs from the non-successful ones is pure perseverance. It is so hard. You put so much of your life into this thing. There are such rough moments in time that I think most people give up. I don't blame them. Its really tough and it consumes your life. If you've got a family and you're in the early days of a company, I can't imagine how one could do it. I'm sure its been done but its rough. Its pretty much an eighteen hour day job, seven days a week for awhile. Unless you have a lot of passion about this, you're not going to survive. You're going to give it up. So you've got to have an idea, or a problem or a wrong that you want to right that you're passionate about otherwise you're not going to have the perseverance to stick it through. I think that's half the battle right there.

Steve Jobs

It is good to fail and make mistakes, it is indispensable in fact, I don't think we can call a person "successful" to whom everything has gone well, and has done everything correctly all the time. That is in fact the trick, to face the difficulties. I have realized that just at the moment when everything seems to go wrong and everything loses reason or meaning, it is precisely the moment in which it is closest to achieve it.

Of course, the things I have accomplished are small things, nothing important, but significant for me. And I think that is precisely the goal of believing that you have no limits. It is not believing that you are going to change the world, it is believing that if you are perseverant, suffer a lot, and get tired, it is only possible, that you change a part of it. That most of the time is not enough motivation, but if you really want to achieve that, then it's good to know that you have no limits.

Sort:  

Good points. I agree that we have to face the difficulties that life presents, but we also have to face the realities that come with it. There will be moments where reality casts a bigger shadow than the difficulties. In such a case, my post suggests that we set aside our egos to focus on the reality first.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59911.66
ETH 2306.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49