You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Countrychildhood Challenge - The Old Homeplace

This is so cool! I feel like I took a stroll through your childhood. One of these days, I'm hoping to bring our kids to visit my childhood home (we've driven past it), but I'm not sure I'm ready to see another family living there (it's only been over 20 years since my parents sold it - LOL!). Lovely memories, and thank you for sharing them

Sort:  

It's always a bittersweet thing to see other people in the old family home; I had those same feelings when I visited the house in this post. Yes, share memories with the children, as they will cherish them when they are older! 😊

We'll definitely do it sometime in the near future - cool thing is, we are on familiar terms with the people who bought the house, and they've always told us to "come on by" whenever we wanted. And excellent point about making memories for the kids (who are almost all adult now, so I better hurry - LOL).

Oh, that is awesome that you are on familiar terms with the folks who bought the house! A perfect arrangement! I wish that had been there case here, but I didn't want to knock on a stranger's door, even if it were once OUR door! LOL! So happy for you that you might be able to do it!

We actually had that happen when I was little - my dad had only owned the house for a half dozen years or so, and one afternoon a couple people knocked on the door, asking to visit their old home. That's about all I recall, other than my dad saying he recognized the names, but not the people, and that I hung out in the kitchen while they got the grand tour. 😊

Just a thought - maybe send the new owners of your old home a letter, asking if it would be okay for you to stop in, and if so, what time would be convenient? Then you'd be expected. 😊

That is a GREAT idea!!! If I am ever in that area again! 😊
Thanks for the suggestion!

You're very welcome! 💜