My Favorite Halloween Couple Costume

in #costumecontest8 years ago

A few years ago I volunteered to work for a local science center's Halloween night for kids. It was a blast full of ooey-gooey experiments, black lights and mirrors, and even an exploding pumpkin. My friend and I went together and since volunteers were encouraged to dress up, she was a wicked zombie while I went as the infamous Mrs. Frizzle.


Wahoo!

A few days later was Halloween proper and I went with my sister and brother-in-law to a local parade held annually at a neighborhood nearby. My nieces and nephew were immersed in the Halloween spirit, but I knew Mrs. Frizzle would not be able to make it there without her trusty Magic School Bus. So we crafted together a costume for Kharma. And by we, I actually mean my husband diligently labored away combining foam, hot glue, tape, straps and buckles tailored to to fit our short, long-bodied dog. It turned out magnificently I think.


Is the theme song in your head yet? "Seatbelts Everyone!"

The neighborhood was packed and the costume definitely withstood some demanding trials. At one point her leash got unclipped due to heavy traffic and the way we had her costume secured. Thankfully, Kharma isn't a runner if she gets unleashed and we got her connected relatively quickly. Momma was a nervous wreck for the entire thirty seconds, though, because their were so many people, dogs, and moving vehicles nearby. It turned out to be a great experience despite that mishap and everyone adored our couple costume. Plus, you know, the kids had fun too.

Hopefully in the future I can upgrade our outfits so we can do it again and maybe I can convince the husband to go as Liz or even Carlos as he resembles him and he would only need to wear a blue hoodie. We once went with a friend as the characters from Sonic: The Hedgehog and that was a fantastic night, also. However we were sad to learn that not many people could recognize us. Most people identified my friend with blue spiky hair as Sonic and me as Tails with my ears and two tails, but very few recognized my husband as Knuckles. Either way, I am glad that we have a costume that I can include Kharma in now and hope we can continue the tradition for years to come.

Sort:  

I do wish I would have been able to make Kharma's bus outfit more one piece. Alas, that's what I get for waiting until the last minute!

I am impressed to this day that you made it happen at all. I was gonna stick her in a cardboard box painted yellow and just hope for the best.

That Puppy Pic makes me smile :)

Glad to hear that! We love making smiles happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 63678.85
ETH 2623.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85