Only in Costa Rica!!!

in #costarica5 years ago

Hi steemians,

I want to share a real life story that happened to me when I was trying to get to the airport. Thing is that like some cool beaches and mountains we do have really bad and odd things in Costa Rica. You should check out @dandays post to see some of the sad reality from an expat point of view. This time I want to warn you about using an Uber. Usually it would be as simple as calling it using the app, most are pretty cool drivers and service is pretty amazing compare to the official taxis (red ones). There are an specific taxi type for the airport (orange ones) they are supposed to give a better experience, speak English fluently and be kind, but truth is they are rude and expensive. Well I couldn't get to the airport by Uber because they are afraid of the official taxis and getting in trouble with them, think like a sort of mafia. Fare was supposed to be around $5 using Uber ended up paying $9 with red taxi and I know I've been charged $20 using the orange ones. The bus ride which may be uncomfortable bit cheap as $2.
That's it I just wanted to share this with you and back up and support honest posts just like @dandays and why some people leave and never come back to a country that other wise would be a very popular destination and booming every year instead they are making sure that the source of employment gets away.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Man, not that it’s good to say this, but it’s good to hear a local talk about the taxis—crooks! I learned I can’t exit a taxi cab in Costa Rica without counting my change first, I’ve been burned three times, that I’m aware of, by cab drivers. And, for the record, I’ve ridden many taxi cabs in many countries, Costa Rica is the only one I’ve been burned in and it happens regularly.

When they can get away with short-changing me 25 Colones, they do it without hesitation. It’s as though it’s been taught for multiple generations, it’s a sad reality. As much as I’d rather not say this: It's nice to know a local sees an expats point of view.

Yeah it really sucked to loose the planned Uber ride and call the red taxi cab I'm an inconvenient timely matter and pay more just because they can rule the airport as their land and even physically injure to the driver

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for being open about that experience. Its good to know about the Uber and taxis!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hola @raserrano.
Has recibido un vote como muestra de apoyo a la comunidad de Costa Rica, Pura vida!

Hi @raserrano!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.995 which ranks you at #3558 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 17 places in the last three days (old rank 3575).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 189 contributions, your post is ranked at #118.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63207.55
ETH 2571.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82