Legally Living Tax Free in Paradise at 24 as a Digital Nomad

in #costa5 years ago

().
A coconut I cracked on the rocks of Manzanillo National Park. A free and nutritious meal and beverage for two!

WARNING THIS IS MY TRAVEL BLOG AND I DO WHAT I WANT

This blog will be in no particular logical order, but I believe it will be interesting as I tend to lead an eventful life. It all started back in September 2018 when I turned to my lovely partner and told her “I’m going to Costa Rica and I’m not coming back”. After a short LSD trip a week later we decided she would would come with. Just to backtrack a little we had minimal planning and very limited income but we knew one thing for sure. The city life in Portland Oregon where she had been working a 9-5 desk job as an attorney's assistant and I had been scraping by through walking dogs, medical transportation, and online ESL to kids in China was not conducive to our health or relationship. We posted on Craigslist come and take all of our shit and we put the rest in the free store of our apartment building.

To be honest our relationship had fallen apart to the point of almost no return. I was ready to get up and leave, however psychedelics have been with us through our strange now almost two year relationship for the better, generally. I first tried psychedelics with my older sister and her boyfriend when I was 19. It was in Eugene, OR, the heart of the LSD and anarchist movements in the 1960s-80s. We were at an event called Fairy Worlds, which to say the least is worth checking out. Imagine the Oregon Country Fair but more anti “Big Brother”! Yes I know you are monitoring ehem google (As I draw up my first Steemit blog post on a google doc).

The experience pretty much changed my outlook on things. My sisters boyfriend at the time was about 12 years older than her and about 14 years older than me for reference. He was what I like to call a “Vegan Nazi”, yes I can say that as I am part Jewish, or as I like to call it JewISH. You know the kind of person that drowns their life away in organic craft beer, mushrooms, and LSD, all the while ranting about how fucked the world is on Facebook. Anyways needless to say while tripping balls on that mountain river I came to see things in a different, and at first more cynical light. I started to completely change my eating habits and got way more into natural medicine. I am now an amateur herbalist and almost completely vegetarian and organic, apart from the occasional ball-out on street food. I call it the 80-20 rule where 80% of the food you intake is for the health and 20% for the soul.

Fast forward to 2019 I have done mushrooms and LSD probably 20-30 times, and Ayahuasca in the Jungles of Costa Rica twice. The Ayahuasca has helped me more than all of the psychedelics combined. As for work I am now making over $20 an hour, untaxed, and my partner is making a similar wage. We teach Chinese kids English online and only work 4 hours on weekdays and seven hours on weekends. Oh did I mention it is untaxed? The IRS has this cool thing called the Foreign Earned Income Exemption or FEIE where as long as you are out of the USA for 330 days of the year the first $103,000 or so is tax free, as long as it is income, they still drain you for capital gains. The USA kind of sucks anyways with constant propaganda, addiction to smartphones, institutional racism, xenophobia, police brutality… shall I go on? Anyways we have now been living on the most beautiful beaches in the world in Costa Rica and Mexico for a fraction of the price of the USA while working part time at a mostly enjoyable job. I even started to learn to surf and pay off my student debt, who knew? Okay, over and out for now. I will update y’all soon on my blogz, they will most likely be less scattered as time goes on, but I doubt it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64241.02
ETH 3178.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85