Cosplay is love. Cosplay is life.

in #cosplay8 years ago

Hi, everyone! I'm excited to start blogging on Steemit.

My name is Cheryl. My cosplay alias is Miss Chezza. I began cosplaying approximately two years ago and, since that time, I've amassed a solid collection of about 16 costumes, most of which I made myself. I'm hoping to use this platform to post tutorials and behind the scenes information about the costumes that I make, along with some musings on how I get the inspiration to create certain cosplays, thoughts on the cosplay community, and more.

I primarily cosplay characters from video games, comic books, anime, and movies. The picture above is from a recent shoot with Matthew Kissau Photography--the character is Lara Croft from the original Tomb Raider (bloodied up a bit, of course). I try to be as creative as possible with most of my costumes, so you'll see plenty of mashups (think Armoured Chun-Li and Bunny Rogue from X-Men--see below!) and my processes for creating these cosplays.

I've tried a lot of different things in my life and cosplay has been the only hobby to truly challenge my creativity, put me through the wringer, and somehow keep me coming back for more. I've been lucky enough to have an excellent education, culminating in a Master's Degree in English from the University of York, and have spent several years working in marketing, advertising, and journalism, always with a number of pop culture projects on the go as a side thing. With cosplay, I can challenge myself to reach new heights--I never thought I'd know how to sew on a button, nevermind sewing bodysuits and making armour out of foam.

I'm looking forward to exploring my cosplay life in more detail on this blog and I hope you guys enjoy the content I produce! I can't wait for your feedback.

Feel free to follow me on some of my social media channels:

Instagram
Facebook
Twitter
DeviantArt

Sort:  

Yes! So glad you joined !

How awesome is this! Great post!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60526.80
ETH 2335.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53