You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Inefficiency In Using Drug Field Tests

in #corruption6 years ago

My strangest field test occurred in the South Island, New Zealand 9am, somewhere in the vicinity of Greymouth (if memory serves). Yeah, 9am (on a frikin Tuesday) as my wife and I are driving along in our campervan about as touristy as you get. It was a mundane procedure, perform by a half-awake cop on a Tuesday morning.

Clearly the cops weren't attempting to catch people on the party scene. I doubt there is a big problem with drunk tourists roaming around Greymouth on a Tuesday morning. Most likely there is a substance problem in the area and the roadblock was looking to catch anyone/everyone in the area to push them through the legal meatgrinder in some half-ass attempt to resolve an issue.

I couldn't help but think to myself, "if there is a substance abuse problem in the area, wouldn't it be better to assist with some programs, some rehabilitation, something, ANYTHING, other than beating already compromised people down just a little bit more...make their precarious situation just a little bit more untenable."

I don't know, municipalities (around the globe) seem to think that the police are the fix-all to every problem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40