Getting my COVID 19 vaccine as a doctor in Mexico

in #coronavirus3 years ago

This year I earned a Bachelors Degree in General Medicine and finished my social service on January 2021. Because I did not receive my degree as soon as I finished my social service, I was not considered a doctor yet and because I was done with my social service already I was not considered a student anymore.

I was in this position where I no longer could receive a vaccine as a student and was not a formal doctor. Needless to say that I was starting out my social service when pandemics hit Mexico and throughout my ENTIRE social service I was in the lead of those who received the very first COVID patients as I was positioned in a Public General Hospital where I live.

Saddly, after investing time, hard-work, my safety and my family's safety, I was not going to receive my vaccine dosis because of some paperwork and a title.

IMG_8ED31BDEC53E-1.jpeg

Luckily my AWESOME university.. Universidad Autónoma de Baja California was one of the main locations for vaccination. The entire process for population on the 18-19 age group was so easy, they could have asked if I was a doctor.. because if I was they might have denied the vaccine, as many vaccination locations did to some of my peers, because vaccination for health workers was an entire different process and allegedly we would take away the vaccine for the general population.

IMG_4755.jpeg

It blew my mind that facing a pandemic and going against the clock, some people were not making this process easier for those who were risking their lives to serve during an outbreak of a disease.

I got my vaccine a random day I was doing administrative paperwork for my degree and it only took me around 5 minutes in the line and the other 20 minutes of waiting to see if any adverse effects of the vaccine where to develop.

I feel lucky and thankful I did not have to wait any longer or do extra paperwork in order to be able to be protected against COVID complications and hopefully Mexico and every other country get all of their population vaccinated at the end of 2021.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 64153.02
ETH 3205.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63