You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Coronavirus: To Panic or not to Panic?

in #coronavirus4 years ago

Hello,
Very nice reasonable article. Panic doesn't help any situation.
Just a few words about the masks:
When my granddaughter was very young and my daughter had to work, I was the babysitter. (Wouldn't you want Grandma?) But I am old, and have one of those 'underlying conditions' that increases risk. So I masked up. I double masked. Not just a mask, but a specialized mask, the N95 OSHA certified respirator. Turns out, this is really the only kind of mask that offers protection against a pathogen. I've read several articles that suggest N95 combined with good hygiene is relatively effective at controlling transmission. Of course, the eyes are another route of transmission.
Well, I never once caught my granddaughter's illnesses when I used these precautions. (Gloves also, plus I wore eyeglasses). Coincidence? I don't know.
Here's one article I just found for your reference:
http://www.isg.org.au/index.php/news-items/study-shows-superiority-of-n95-respirators-in-protecting-health-workers-against-bacterial-respiratory-infections./

I think the corona virus is really scary, mostly because we have no idea what we are dealing with. At my age, concern is never for myself, but for others. But, no matter the concern, panic doesn't help.

Have a great day, and stay healthy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43