Face Masks Worth More Than Gold. I’m Still in China

in #corona-virus4 years ago

I was told, during an apocalypse, it would be medicine and condoms worth more than gold. Wrong!

There is a problem though. The shops have run out of face masks. They can’t even be bought online. The government has forced all the shops to send the masks to government agencies to be distributed for free to everyone. We are all suppose to get 2 masks each. We’ll see if this happens, or when since there is a massive shortage. I can’t even get my family to send me face masks since the shops in Canada have also sold out.

(this is me)

I’m still living in China and I have no intention of fleeing back at this time. I’m not in one of the hard hit cities. I’m in Dalian, and yes there are some cases here and more being reported daily. I actually was in Wuhan for New Years Eve celebrations. I left on January 3rd safely and without illness (does hangover count?). I didn’t even know about the virus while I was there.

I never got sick and it’s been over a month so I confident if I do get sick I will have picked it up in Dalian. I doubt I will though. Everyone is in self imposed isolation, and no one goes out to meet friends or to eat out. During the holiday the streets were like a ghost town. I stay home all day every day. I am so bored and lonely to be honest.

my cats don’t even know, I don’t want to worry them so I didn’t say)

People are offering to buy masks from other people but people are refusing to sell the precious masks for any price. So happy I have good ones that I’ve been reusing.

(creative ways to safe if you can’t find a mask)

My work is cancelled until further notice, but I still get paid thankfully. All the schools in China are closed until further notice.

I got quoted in an interview with CTV News, a Canadian company. (I’m in the second last paragraph)

Wish me luck!!

Sort:  

I think my cat is enjoying all this bonding time with me!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Bonding time is good, but damn, are't they so demanding? My gf is locked down in another city. They cope with the boredom, they are used to it. It's something we need to adapt to.

If shipping weren't so expensive I'd mail you some masks. Easy to find here. In December here in the US in Tennessee the flu was horrible but in our culture jobs and schools refuse to close so people have to go out in public. People feel embarrassed or unfashionable to wear masks which I wish weren't the case. They gave out the wrong strain of flu vaccine locally so another strain of flu spread rapidly and rates were worse than in a long time. Hospital wait time was 10 hours. It's just now dying down a month later. I hope things clear up there soon for you. At least you have furry company to cuddle with.

I didn't know that about Tennessee, wow. Wearing masks are actually kind normal during good times. I always saw some people wearing them. They did stick out a bit. Now it's the opposite, masks are mandatory when outside and not wearing one will get you no entrance into shops and places.

Thank You So Much for the offer of masks. I was lucky and bought the last two N95 masks in the shop near my home. I can use them repeatedly. Hopefully by the time I need new ones they will be back in stock or the gov issued ones arrive.

Glad you found some masks. I think here you can get 50 disposable ones for $4 and 20 packs of N95 ones for $11. The only people I see buying them are construction type workers or doctors offices. I'd say you'll get them in stock before overseas ones would arrive.

Damn, didn't know even CA has sold out. I heard about Australia also cannot get..

Yeah, Canada is sold out. Even the little towns, Foresight is greater than hindsight,

the cats are just enjoying life through it all 😃

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64449.70
ETH 3164.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87