A Cord Cutters Lifestyle

in #cordcutters5 years ago (edited)

I need money!

Since we started unschooling our children, we tried to find ways to save money. We were used to pretty high living standards and needed to cut back. We did our budget and figure one of the biggest sources of expense was telecoms (Duh, are you surprised?).

Cutting the cord

So I did some research and found that for our specific needs, I'd need an HD antenna, a recording box and maybe a wire or two. So I went with tablo for the DVR and a basic outdoor antenna that I put in my attic. The signal wasn't so bad but it wasn't so great either, so I tried a booster which did really help (Signal went for around 50/100 to 80+/100 and I got 2 more channels).

Now how do I put all this on my TV

After some trial and error, I also bought 2 roku streaming stick+ - notice the + if you want 4K and a better wireless package. All in all, it cost me around 500$ to get everything working as well as my cable company. But now I have a 0$ bill each month, that's really amazing. I'm saving around 45$/month with that setup.

Next step

Mobile and Internet plans

Wish me luck!

Sort:  

Nicely done! It's surprising how much you can save if you come at things from a different angle.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes we take what we have for granted yet most of it is futile.

Your post has been curated by the bitcoin myk project. Tokens are available for this account you can trade for steem at: https://steem-engine.com/. Join our curation priority list to earn more tokens by registering at:

http://www.bitcoinmyk.com/register/

Bitcoin MYK
admin
Register - Bitcoin MYK

Congratulations @unschool! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60944.89
ETH 2608.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67