Because Living Happily Ever After Doesn’t Mean Living Happily Every Moment

I am in a bar with some coworkers after work. My boyfriend swings by. As we’ve both had long, hard days, we’re both a little curt with each other, and he leaves on a bit of a tense note. My coworker pipes up after he leaves.

Coworker: “Oh, my God, leave his toxic a**!”

Me: “Excuse me?”

Coworker: “He shouldn’t treat you that way. Leave him, girl! You deserve better!”

Me: “I mean, I’m all for not staying in toxic relationships, but ours is fine, thanks.”

Coworker: “No, I know a toxic man when I see one. Too many red flags. Leave his a**!”

Me: “You are saying all of this based on one interaction?”

Coworker: “Once a toxic ahole, always a toxic ahole.”

Me: “Not that it’s any of your business, but he’s not toxic. We fight, we discuss, we make up, we learn, and we move on. We’ve been together for four years, and it’s working out pretty well so far.”

Coworker: “He’s gaslighting you, girl. Can’t you see it? Dump him!”

Me: “Changing the subject now.”

Coworker: “Guuuuurl—”

Me: “‘Gurl’ me one more time and the only one I’m dumping is you.”

Coworker: “Fine. Just trying to save a sister.”

I left the drinks early and had a productive and mature discussion with my boyfriend. He apologized for his curtness earlier, and I accepted his apology. I hate it when people see one bad interaction between a couple and jump straight to “dump his toxic a**”, but I have also noticed that most of the people giving that advice are single…

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60681.54
ETH 3358.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49