Chicken Lettuce Wraps

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

Chicken Lettuce Wraps

Lettuce Wraps-20.jpg

It's a delicious and healthful low-carb option that can be served as a meal or as a quick snack.
I love how chicken lettuce wraps are so refreshing and satisfying. They're so versatile too. I like making them with bibb lettuce and this time around, I was in the mood for some sriracha, toasted sesame seeds and cilantro, so I came up with this ...

IMB_3xV7Yt.GIF

I used chicken for this preparation because I had leftovers from another food project I was working on, but you can use your own protein of choice like ground or grilled beef, ground pork, seafood, or tofu. Make it vegetarian or vegan if you please.
The chicken breasts are cut into thick long strips and passed through a grinder. Store-bought ground chicken works as well.

Lettuce Wraps-1.jpg

Lettuce Wraps-2.jpg

Lettuce Wraps-6.jpg

I had two kinds of mushrooms so I used them both. Like I said, this dish is versatile and is a good way to use up veggies in your fridge.

Lettuce Wraps-3.jpg

Lettuce Wraps-4.jpg

Also added chopped bell peppers, scallions, garlic, toasted sesame seeds, water chestnuts and cilantro (not in photo).

Lettuce Wraps-5.jpg

Bibb lettuce below - ready for the chicken filling. Romaine lettuce works for this dish as well but I prefer using the former.

Lettuce Wraps-7.jpg

Stir fry ...

Lettuce Wraps-8.jpg

Voila! You'll have a delicious filling ready for those lettuce leaves.

LettuceWrapGif-31.jpg

Freestyling the Recipe

I don't have exact measurements for this because I winged it using ingredrients I had available as shown in the photos above. I basically stir fried the cut-up ingredients.
For the seasoning, you can use soy sauce, salt, kecap manis, oyster sauce, hoisin sauce or a combination of them. I like adding a splash of sesame oil once the filling is completely cooked.
Before wrapping, top your filling with toasted sesame seeds, julienned carrots and/or radish slices. How about a drizzle of chili oil and some chopped peanuts?

Your Turn

What would you put in your version of lettuce wraps? I'd very much love to hear from you.
And as always, let me know if you have any suggestions or questions.

Bon appetit!

Sort:  

This deserves a "myturn" @offoodandart - let me see what I can come up with

It would be so great if you ‘myturn’ it @leelektrik! Looking forward to it!

As always a beautiful presentation of cooking and using healthy ingredients. What amazing and colourful photographs @offoodandart. This recipe deserves to be in a cooking competition.

Thanks so much @pandamama! Well, there’s one that’s about to start, right?

@cookwithus, here we come!

Yes, very excited - Jack is setting his alarm to listen, at what will be his time (8am in Thailand) to our msp-waves interview

Mmmm! Sarap po niyan ah, tita! Nice touch sneaking in that sriracha dab for an added kick! I usually eat a version of this minus the peppers and lettuce, but I would definitely try adding them with sriracha to taste the difference!

Actually, para palang lumpia pero gulay ang balot. 😜

Nagluluto ka ba? Salí ka sa contest namin which is launching soon. Check out @cookwithus.

Para po yung mga Korean na wrap hehe!

I'm actually a frustrated chef po and while I cook from time to time, I haven't been able to cook in quite a while. After the wedding and we get our own place, I would be sure to cook with all of you :D Until then, I'll be warming up muna po haha!

'Cook with all of you' ... nice touch! =D

It's the little garnishes that counts, hindi ba po? :)

You said it! Totally agree!

Looks delicious @offoodandart - and a healthy substitute for wraps

It was so delicious. I love Lee's version as well. It's great that it's versatile.

Thanks for stopping by!

that looks amazing!!! :)) i love the colours!! thanks so much!!

Thank you for the complement and for stopping by!!! =D

I make it the same way. But I'd spike it with bacon! and maybe top it with some cheddar cheese. Maybe take out the mushrooms and replace them with red onion. But what you have here is fantastic! Great high quality photos too! I see why @theywillkill you looks so strong and healthy. You fed him well growing up, that is obvious! Well done! Have a great day! -Dan

Your version sounds like something I'd truly enjoy. You know what, you should do 'myturn' then. I will explain what it is in a post soon.

Thanks for the nice words! I sincerely appreciate it. Enjoy your day as well!

Ok I'll keep my eye out for the post.

Congratulations @offoodandart! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

You got a 4.84% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @offoodandart!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This dish looks delicious! Thank you for sharing the recipe, I'll try it! Come and visit my foodblog, too!

Thanks! Will definitely check out your blog!

Amazing photography&food

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58