Cookwithus #5- Tom Yum Mocktail

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Whenever I am in Thailand, one of my favorite drinks to order is nam manao, Thai style lemonade. It is actually a limeade since limes are locally grown and not lemons. Nam manao is freshly squeezed lime juice with soda water and some simple syrup. It is refreshing on a hot day and it pairs well with spicy foods. When I saw the cocktail challenge for this week's @cookwithus contest, I immediately thought of making a mocktail using the idea of the lime soda and adding to it some aromatics that are found in a popular Thai soup called Tom Yum. The traditional soup is a hot and sour soup flavored with lemongrass, kaffir lime leaves, galangal and chilis. I thought the tangy, citrusy, woody and floral flavor profiles of the soup would work really well as a drink, minus the chilis.

IMG_7280.jpg

Ingredients for one drink:

  • 3 kaffir lime leaves, torn into pieces
  • 1 1" piece of galangal, cut into small pieces
  • 1/2 stick of lemongrass, cut into small pieces
  • 1 tbsp of raw sugar or more to taste
  • 3 tbsp of freshly squeezed lime juice
  • 1 bottle or can of soda water

In a tall glass, add the kaffir lime leaves, galangal, lemongrass and sugar. Add in 1/4 cup boiling water. Using a muddler or a spoon, gently crush the herbs releasing the oils which will flavor the drink. If you want the drink sweeter, add in an extra tbsp of sugar and stir until the sugar is dissolved.

IMG_7285.jpg

Strain the infused water into a new glass, add the lime juice and top with soda water and crushed ice.
IMG_7295.jpg

This drink can easily be adapted into a cocktail by omitting the sugar and substituting sparkling wine for the soda water . Cheers!

Sort:  

Hehe. Though you where gonna pout alcohol in tom yum soup... not sure how that would come out! Love lime juice too and I am sure with the addition of all those herbs it tasted great!

The next time I make tom yum I should try to flambe some alcohol! Maybe some Pernod?

Hehe. I have used pastis in mussel recipes before so I am sure it would taste great actually!

I like this kind of drink. I think I had one like this before at restaurant Nahm but it had some chilies in it.

How did you like it? Do you remember what type of alcohol they used in it? What is your favorite cocktail if you were to submit a recipe?

Thanks for your entry @loveself! This mocktail really looks refreshing! Good luck this week.

Sam had this drink last year in Kanchanburi and it does surprisingly work, but was also a bit weird. His had the heat of the chili, which gave it a kick in the throat.
Thanks for sharing this drink with the Steemit World :D

I thought about adding chili to the drink but I wasn't sure. I should try it next time. Thanks!

I thought about adding some chili but I was not sure. Next time I will have to try it. Thanks!

Give it a try and we'll try your version to see which one we prefer. 😊

✈️👫

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 19:08:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 41.40/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks so refreshing, love the flavours you've incorporated into your cocktail!

Thank you and congratulations on your win last week. I wanted to eat them all!

I think Tom Yum is delicious! So making it into a drink with some modifications, I think, is totally enjoyable too. Sounds refreshing, flavorful and different!

Thanks for your entry @loveself and good luck this week!

It was definitely refreshing. Thank you @offoodandart.

Sounds and looks amazing - wish I could sample some of the unusual ingredients @loveself

I wish I could send you the ingredients! Thank you @pandamama.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 55011.75
ETH 2337.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34