Cook With Us Week #12- Smoked BBQ Chicken Wings

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Firing up the grill is something I definitely do not do very often. Maybe it's the process of starting the fire and getting the the charcoals going that I find daunting so I usually do not barbecue. But for this week's theme @cookwithus, I decided to face the challenge and I thought why not smoke some chicken wings. Luckily my husband had a bag of cherry wood chips and a big bag of charcoal so I was all set to start the grill.

IMG_8136.jpg

I wanted to make the wings Caribbean style so I thought of jerk chicken and used those flavors as my inspiration. I seasoned the wings with a dry rub adding a combination of spices and I added some Meyer's rum for extra flavor.

Dry Rub

  • salt
  • pepper
  • allspice
  • paprika
  • curry powder
  • brown sugar

IMG_8134.jpg

I massaged the spices and rum into the chicken wings and let it sit for an hour in the refrigerator while I went to start the grill. I had presoaked some cherry wood chips to add to the charcoal to help flavor the food. I really had no clue what I was doing, but I remembered from watching my husband start a grill, I crumpled a brown paper bag and placed that on the bottom and piled the charcoal on top. I ignited the paper and watched the fire build and somehow it worked; the charcoals were hot! I let the heat cool down a bit and I placed the wings on the grill with the cover on and smoked them for 1 hr. Then I flipped them over and smoked them for another hour.

IMG_8132.jpg

While the wings were smoking, I made the sauce. I didn't want a tomato base sauce so thinking back to Caribbean flavors I went with fruit.

Mango Pineapple BBQ Sauce

  • 1/2 small mango, diced
  • 1/4 cup diced pineapple
  • 1/2 serrano chili or to taste
  • 1 shallot
  • handful cilantro
  • 2 tsp light brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp white vinegar
  • salt to taste
    IMG_8137.jpg

Place all the ingredients into a pot except for the sugar and vinegar and add a couple tablespoons of water and cook until the mango and pineapple are tender. Place all the ingredients into a blender and blend until smooth. Add in the sugar and vinegar. You might have to adjust the amount of sugar and vinegar depending on the ripeness of your mango and pineapple. Season with salt to taste. The smoked chicken wings were a success! The allspice complemented the smokey flavor and there was just a hint of curry at the end. The sauce was sweet and sour with a touch of heat. Nothing better than a cold beer to have along with the wings. Now that I have conquered the grill maybe I just might start grilling more for the summer. Thank you @cookwithus.

IMG_8135.jpg

Sort:  

Omg that caramelize and Charness on the chicken is just mouth watering!! And the bbq definitely packs a good punch!

I have to say I was shocked how well they turned out considering I am definitely not a grill master at all! Thank you @alansthoughs and always a pleasure to hear from you.

That show you're a pro!! Like wise, always nice to see your post!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-27T23:50:27
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 127.35/200.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

อ๋อยยยย น่ากิน ดรูลลิ่งงงงง 5555

Next time you come back, I will make you some for you. Did you sit on any rides at Cooney Island?

I really think you would be in Thailand before I go back to United States hahaha. Unfortunately I didn't get on any ride ka ✌️✌️🙈❤️

Posted using Partiko Android

Definitely want to taste those 'jerk chicken wings' (like right now) and with the cooling sauce of mango and pineapple, we believe this dish works a treat! :)

Thank you @travelling-two. It's amazing reading and seeing all the pictures from your work and travel adventures. What an experience to be able to walk through the Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre and see all the butterflies in person.

Have you been to Siem Reap before? The BBC (Banteay Srey Butterfly Centre) is just about an hour outside the city, but it shouldn't be missed. We're not saying that because we were associated with them, but the NGO is doing a great job to get the locals involved in butterfly farming, which is less destructive than cashew or even they were thinking of getting involved in pig farming.

Life is an adventure, so trying to mix both passion and work in one! :D

I have been to Siem Reap, but that was way back in the early 2000's. I'm sure it's not the same Siem Reap. I definitely would like to go back and take a trip to BBC. Thanks for the information!

You're welcome and yes, it has changed quite a bit even between Sam's first time in 2011 and last year (2017). Lot more infrastructure, but luckily no building can be higher than Angkor Wat, so no skyscrapers. Yet, we feel like it's a tourist trap - loads of restaurants, bars and shops. Up to you if you want to go back or not. It's the reason why Sam's dad has never been back to India since his time in the late 70's. He knows it's changed a lot and wants to keep the good old memories with him. :)

The colour on those wings! Wowie! Love the look of that pineapple bbq sauce!

Thank you @whattheduck. I will swap some of my wings for some of your ribs and your ginger pineapple chili glaze!

Sounds like a deal!

Hi, we have voted on your post because you have posted your article to either food, recipe, recipes, cooking or steemkitchen #tag. Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain. Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our new discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Also please consider joining our curation trail on https://steemauto.com/ to help support each other in this community of food and recipe lovers.

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Hi @loveself! These smokey wings look amazing and I imagine they go so well with the fruity and spicy bbq sauce! Well done!

Thanks for putting out the challenge, if not, I probably would not be going anywhere near the grill.

Looks delicious @loveself - the flavour sounds wonderful

I'm going to have to steal your idea and use some pickled onions and the pickling juice to marinate some chicken for dinner! Thanks so much @leelektrik.

I simply LOVE chicken wings @loveself and would love to taste the ones you grilled. The sauce sounds amazing too

If you are ever in the NY, I'll throw some on the grill for you. Thank you @pandamama.

Ohhhhh, those wings look so good with the nicely crisped skin! Looks like smoking them for two hours paid off. I love the ingredients you combined for the dry rub and for the Caribbean-inspired sauce. Sounds flavorful!

Thanks for facing the challenge and glad you enjoyed your experience!

I think it was my lucky day, haha. Normally I would use a grill pan. Thank you @offoodandart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68988.65
ETH 3774.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43