Cook With Us #9: Mexican Chunky Guacamole salad with pita

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

I simply love Mexican food and having read @alanthoughs recipe this morning it inspired me to put my entry in - rather late than never. It's been an incredibly busy week with my father visiting me and meeting some deadlines in-between.

So, it looks like a Mexican breakfast for us today.

This is always such a popular dish to serve to guests. Chunky Guacamole salad served with pita bread.

Ingredients:
Avocado
Onion
Tomato
Green and yellow peppers
Left-over chicken breast

Cut the vegetables up - nice and chunky and add salt and pepper. Serve with a warmed up pita bread. We usually keep these in our deep freeze to serve up a quick and easy meal or snack.

I sometimes serve with a Greek Tzadziki but due to time restraints I just added cucumber to the salad today.

When I make chicken - which is very often, I always leave a little for the next day - and this came in very handy for this quick dish.

We are lucky to get our avocado's each week directly from the farmer at our weekly fruit and veg shop at the market. Always amazed at how flawless these avo's are, as you can see from my photograph.

Add some Himalayan salt, and freshly ground pepper and don't forget the balsamic vinegar. All of this adds to a splendid taste sensation. Also decorate your plate with balsamic glaze.

Hope you enjoy. I'm certainly about to enjoy as I partake of this unusual breakfast for me.

Thank you @pandamama, @offoodandart and @chefsteve for hosting this competition

Good luck to all the contestants and to all my fellow South Africans who are so active on this contest

Sort:  

Love a quick, easy recipe! Imagine it's delicious with a warm pita! Awesome seeing so many South Africans here!

It really is @whattheduck - enjoying your entries

you manage to enter !!! never had people gotten motivated by my post to post their own post, very meaningful to me!! simply yet full of colours, good job!!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-07T05:21:18
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 142.35/200.00
Total Photos: 27
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Lovely salad @leelektrik and love the bright photographs

Hello @leelektrik! Glad you made the deadline as I know you've been really busy. Even more happy that a fellow contestant @alansthoughs has inspired you!

I can always bank on you for a healthy option. Your entry looks delicious despite it being healthy as well.

Thanks for sharing your delicious salad with us and looking forward to your CwU #10 entry!

Hey @leelektrik! Thanks for you entry! This is the kind of salad that I can eat everyday. I love all those big chunks of veggies and the warm pita bread. The only thing I would add to it would be some hot chili flakes! But, I add hot chilies to nearly all foods. Great salad, Thanks for sharing it with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97