Cook with Us #17: Blueberry Oreo Tart

in #cookwithus6 years ago

This is a first! I’m amongst the first participants to post my entry. There is a reason behind that: I’m off on holidays to sunny (that’s the hope) Cairns. But I didn’t want to miss this week contest. Unfortunately I had to tone down what I wanted to do. I’ll expand on this a little bit later. I thought I would use this opportunity to congratulate @offoodandart, @pandamama and @chefsteve, for all the hard work they’ve put and continue putting in this contest. Over the last few weeks they’ve brought in additional sponsorships from various good samaritans, and are continually striving to innovate in a somewhat competitive environment. 

With this in mind I would like to encourage past contestants and winners to come back and showcase their exceptional talent on cookwithus. We miss you all here! As I’m writing this post I’m watching the replay of the football world cup where France came out a deserving winner. And their achievement make me think of how far they’ve come as a team and how far @cookwithus has matured as a contest. So let’s get back to this week theme: raw food. I must admit that I’ve actually prepared this dish a few hours before baking the pizza for week#16. 

I doubt I would find any ingredients or cooking ware to use at the Hilton this week. Better early than sorry! While preparing this week contest I had a lot of ideas buzzing in my head. The one dish I wanted to prepare was unfortunately out of season. I had this idea of preparing a trio of oysters ceviche with rum, vodka and lime juice accompanied by a tomatoes, chilli, and salsa. Each oyster would have had its own theme and flavour. But as mentioned before oysters are kind of out of season down in Melbourne. It doesn’t mean that it is not available but I would never pay $58 for a dozen of oysters. 

So I had to settle for something which is more affordable. Now I’ve read and seen so many recipe where Oreo biscuits is the main ingredient. I’ve never tried any of them. I think I had a negative bias against them. However, since I’ve always approached this contest with no preconceive bias I thought I would give Oreo a try.

I was nicely surprised by how easy these biscuits were to manipulate, to use and to shape. I had this idea of a fruity tart with a light cream. My idea of raw is that nothing should be cooked or baked or even boiled for that matter. If I’ve got the concept right then I reckon my tart qualified for this week’s theme. Otherwise I would simply have made two happy persons at home. Between the two of them, my husband and daughter, ate two third of the tart. My daughter went for all the blueberries and my husband eating whatever was left! This is one of the simplest recipe I’ve ever made. I would encourage everyone to give it a try the more so that it is quite inexpensive. Whilst I enjoy the sun for the next few days I hope to take some times and read all of your raw recipes. And hopefully once I’m back home I get to enjoy trying them.

Good luck to everyone.

INGREDIENTS

  • 300g Oreo Biscuits
  • 50g Butter, Softened
  • 50g Dark Chocolate, chopped
  • 250g Mascarpone Cheese
  • 200g Condensed Milk
  • 250g Blueberries
 

METHOD

  1. In a food processor, blend the biscuits, butter and chocolate to form a sandy texture for the base of the tart.
  2.      
  3. Press the mixture in a tin and refrigerate until ready to add the filling.
  4.    
  5. To make the filling, mix the mascarpone cheese and condensed milk together (ensure both were in the fridge 24hr prior) to make a thick cream.
  6.  



  7. Remove the tart from the fridge and gently cover the base with the cream.


  8.    
  9. Add the blueberries on top to decorate and sprinkle some icing sugar on top.
  10.  
           

I hope you enjoy it!

Bon appétit!

 
Sort:  

Its so delicious my friend 😊 sure l will try this in my home. Thanks for post @foodfor soul and l also post different type of food items you must look my post and give me upvote 😀.

That looks amazing. And obviously, chocolate makes everything better.

Chocolate does have that effect indeed. Not that I know how this particular one tasted as my husband and daughter ate everything.

Looks yummy! Enjoy your vacation!!

Thank you we will try too. After yesterday’s storm we definitely need some sun.

We had a bad storm yesterday too. Lots of trees down in our area.

Wow this looks amazing... again, your family is really lucky! Have a great holiday :)

Hahaha thank you. Will try to make the most of it and behave as proper little tourists.

Oh my, I love Oreo cookies as well as Oreo crusts in tarts and desserts. I haven't had the cookies in many years (not kidding ... weird huh?) until last week when I had a few two days in a row! So, so fun!

Amazing photos @foodforsoul! The crust, the filling as well as the berry topping all look delicious. I love that it's easy to make plus no cooking involved. Thanks for the encouragement to try making this dessert. I think I will. Soon.

Thanks for your full support for Cook with Us! It's very much appreciated. I like your analogy with France in the World Cup. You are right, we have matured as a contest. Thanks to our wonderful contestants, the supporters, the sponsors and the great content that you and other contestants have consistently shared. Also, I am proud to be part of the the Cook with Us trio. Both @chefsteve and @pandamama are great to work with. The contest doesn't run by itself; lots of hard work involved. But we work as a team and we get our inspiration and motivation from the CwU community. =D

Have a fun time off!

Thank you. I think we all recognise the hard work behind every contest and are very much appreciative of the work being done in the background.

We're also aware of the hard work the contestants put in plus the time and cost of producing the entries. Thank you!

Your photographs are amazing @foodforsoul - I can taste your tart just by looking at the pics. Good luck in the competition

Thank you I was lucky to have prepared it earlier in the day and benefited from some really good light.

Lovely dessert! I remember when my kids used to love Oreo cookies, this tart would be a hit around our house, beautiful!

Thank you my little one enjoyed it very much.

What a delicious dessert! These no-cook desserts just come together so fast. The fresh berries on top look incredible. Thanks for sharing your dessert with us!

hmmm, that looks very apetizing @foodforsoul. i like oreos a lot, so I am on !

was also very nice reading your post :) can i ask if you are living abroad, as your English is soo good ? :)

and by the way - how do you do gifs ? it really interests me :)

Ten przepis jest z mojewypieki 😀 bardzo dobre bylo, jak wszystkie jej wypieki. Mieszkam w Melbourne.
Uzywam Motion Stills.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58399.10
ETH 2475.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38