Cook with Us #16: Kebab pizza or pizza on a stick

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Pizza week is already here and it was one of those events I was looking forward to. Not so much to showcase my pizza skills (still working on that one!) but to see what all participants had to offer. While pizza is intrinsically an Italian speciality it has always fascinated me how everyone has made it it their own. Australia has two of the best pizzaiolo in the world having won the World Championship twice in the last five years. Melbourne chef Johnny Di Francesco won it in 2014 and last I’ve heard about him on the news, he was busy training his son to take over from him. So watch out for him!
To come back to this week’s contest I am very much interested in finding out particular skills and techniques from particular countries. I’ve already read and upvoted most of the post for this week. I must admit that I am quite impressed by the skills level displayed. I also like the fact that many have chosen to dust up the traditional pizza and presented some very original recipe. With this in mind I thought I would give it a try. I generally prepare pizza on the weekend for my family. I would opt for two pizza so that I can do both a tomato base and a garlic base. My husband is a big fan of the latter. Generally my base is thin as I don’t overuse yeast in my recipe.
As always I’ve tried to find a recipe which is cheap, easy, conform with the week’s theme but at the same time I also tried to be different. During the week I’ve researched and explore various pizza dough and recipe. I was initially inclined to make a sweet pizza but then gave up on the idea midweek. I next wanted to attempt to try the Chicago style pizza but another contestant had already done the same. Another option was a cone pizza. This one looked amazing in both it’s technique and skills. I only had one issue with it: I didn’t have the proper instrument to pull it out. And then out of the blue, I came across this kebab pizza. I liked the idea of it.  
It required the same skills sets for making a traditional pizza with the only difference being how it is presented and eaten. Pizza on a stick I call it! And it is just that. I’ve been waiting all afternoon for the dough to rise. I was anxious as it has been pretty cold of late so I pump up the heater as I’ve read somewhere that the right room temperature tend to make the dough better. I went on a limp and made the house roughly 20 C. With the dough being cut in strips I was worried that I overcooked the pizza. I think I’ve done well and is happy with how everything turned out.  
Before I get on with the ingredients and methods I thought I would share something I learnt while reading about all things pizza this week. The “Pizza Margherita” was created in June 1889 in honour of the Queen consort of Italy Margherita of Savoy. It was made by Neapolitan pizza maker Raffael Esposito wth tomatoes, mozzarella and basil. The idea was to pick ingredients that represents the of the Italian flag. I made it a point to have one when I was in Rome about 3 years ago. It was absolutely amazing. 

INGREDIENTS 

  • 3 cups flour 
  • 1 cup water 
  • 1 1/4 tsps instant yeast
  •  1 tsp sugar 
  • 1 tsp salt 
  • 1 tbs extra virgin olive oil 
  • 1 smoked sausage 
  • 1 red capsicum 
  • 1 yellow capsicum 
  • 1 small block halloumi cheese 
  • 10 mushrooms 
  • 1 onion 
  • Mozzarella cheese
  • Wood skewers
 

METHOD

  1. Heat the water to roughly 45 degrees celsius. Add the sugar and yeast to it and allow the yeast to rise for 5 minutes.
  2.    
  3. In a food processor add the flour, salt and olive oil and process before adding the yeast water. Process until the dough turns into a ball.
  4.      
  5. Remove the dough, place in a bowl covered by a plastic wrap and rest for 1hr or until it has doubled in size.
  6.      
  7. Roll the dough flat on a board and cut into 5 cm strips.
  8.    
  9. Using the wooden skewers add the sausage, capsicums, halloumi cheese, mushrooms and onions in your desired order.
  10.    
  11. Wrap the pizza dough strips around the skewers.
  12.      
  13. Bake for 30 mins in the oven (180 C). Momentarily remove the pizza from the oven to add the cheese and then bake for a further 10 mins to allow the cheese to melt.
  14.  
   

I hope you enjoy it! 

Bon appétit! 

     
Sort:  

Yum pizzas on a stick with smoked sausages sounds delicious @foodforsoul! Great concept!

Thank you @lizelle. I like your aubergine pizza as well. Good luck this week.

Yummy pizza 😋😋l like pizza 😊thanks for post

Thank you and it tasted great too!

What an original idea to make pizza kebabs! I like how it increases the ratio of filling to crust. This changes the traditional pizza experience and gives a new way to enjoy pizza. It is cool too how as you eat the kebab the tastes change as you get to a new filling ingredient. Well done!

What a fun and different way to eat pizza! Great idea, I must say. And despite how beautiful they look, it doesn't entail much more work than the traditional way.

How'd your family like the eating experience? I know my family would enjoy it. There's a particular pizza dough recipe I use and will have to try cutting the dough in strips like you did then wrap them around the filling. Fun!

Thanks for another delicioius entry @foodforsoul!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36