Cook with us #18 - Lemon cheesecake ice lollies (vegan)

in #cookwithus6 years ago

HKM_6062.JPG

Is it just me or is a two week-long holiday more than enough time for your parents to drive you clinically insane?! Having travelled around the various provinces of China under seriously hot and humid conditions with family 24/7…well it definitely didn’t have that happy holiday vibe I envisioned. Regardless of the troughs, parting ways with them yesterday was a sad moment, but we will be reunited again in January (a nice break I guess) so it’s not too bad.

HKM_6054.JPG

Sad as it was, I am happy to be back home, free to keep cooped in my air-conditioned flat and get back to cooking.

HKM_6065.JPG

Given the excruciatingly hot summer climate in my neck of the woods, there’s nothing more satisfying than a sweet, juicy ice lolly so that’s what I’ll be making. As a dessert person, I want to go in the direction of a pudding of some sort.

HKM_6068.JPG

With so many to choose from, the decision-making process was a lengthy one, but my final choice was lemon cheesecake.

HKM_6072.JPG

Serving size:
Makes 12 ice lollies

Ingredients:
• 200ml lemon juice
• 200g sugar
• 4tbsp cornstarch
• 3tbsp rapeseed oil
• 1tbsp soya milk
• 250ml coconut cream
• 2tbsp icing sugar
• 5tbsp granola

Method:

  1. For the lemon curd, pour the lemon juice, sugar and oil into a double boiler (metal bowl of a saucepan with boiling
    water) and heat until the sugar has dissolved.
  2. Make a paste with the soya milk and cornstarch and whisk into the lemon mix until it is thick enough to coat the
    back of a spoon. Leave aside to cool.
  3. For the creamy part, blend the coconut cream with the icing sugar into a smooth paste.
  4. In ice lolly trays, spoon in the lemon curd and then the coconut cream.
  5. Place in the freezer for at least 4-5 hours.
  6. Remove from the freezer and sprinkle with granola dust (granola blitzed in a food processor) and serve immediately.

Having one of these in your mouth will definitely make that heatwave a lot more pleasant.

Sort:  

Not just you, parents are the real thing to test the skin thickness.

These lolly poppies look extremely attractive, i might and should give this a try, amazing pictures as usual!

Thank goodness for that @bubke! I though maybe I was just being too harsh to my parents but I don’t feel so bad now!
Aww thank you, let me know how it goes :-)

Hi, thank you for supporting steemkitchen and community. To continue to recieve an upvote from steemkitchen you will need to logon at www.steemkitchen.com and make your post on the community website. All posts are also mirrored on the steemit website.

This upvote bot will be shut down in a few days time.

www.steemkitchen.com is live in Beta. The first decentralized recipe and food centric blog site on the internet that rewards the contributors in a crypto currency called steem that can be traded for any Fiat Currency.
The users of Steemkitchen reward each other by means of upvoting to choose the size of the reward.

Please consider joining us at our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Gorgeous ice lollies @foodflaneur, perfect for a hot summer day! I used Lemon curd as well, my absolute favourite :)

Thank you @lizelle :-) omg lemon curd is one of my faves too!

These look so delicious @foodflaneur - and your photographs are superb

It's always a sad time when we part with our loved ones. Hope you see each other again soon.

Beautiful lollies and so refreshing! The coconut and lemon curd play nicely together. Every lick is fun, I'm sure. The addition of crushed granola gives it a delightful texture. These lollies are not just for kids, I must say! Count me in!

And your photos are beautiful!

Thanks for another great and fun entry!

Haha, thank you @offoodandart :-) yes I didn’t think lemon and coconut would work so well but in ice form it really did, and great for adults too!

I've got your China tour beat. Try a week on a boat with your family! Luckily family love is unconditional!

You have just made the antidote to a hot and humid summer day! A soul cooling lemon and coconut daydream. Awesome entry, thanks and good luck!

Omg yess, the boat trip definitely beats mine! I was on a 5 day boat trip with friends and that was tiring enough so I can just imagine how it could be with family, you should be proud for the achievement! Thank you @chefsteve :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64572.94
ETH 2630.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82