Cook with Us #17 - Strawberry shortcake cookie dough (vegan)

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

HKM_5799.JPG

Rumour has it that raw food is the best way to eat. Well if that’s the case, cookie dough is where I’m heading. I’m not sure why, but the dough always tastes better than the baked thing itself. Maybe because it feels a bit naughty not waiting and therefore ruining your appetite, or maybe that’s just some psychological analysis of me, but that statement, bold as it may be, is the truth in my eyes!

HKM_5777.JPG

I’m down for eating raw, after all, no cooking required, bonus! Consumption of food in its most natural state, just how Mother Nature intended. But, when it comes to meat, definitely a no-go area for me, that’s when the fire goes on (or electric hotplate in my case)!

HKM_5813.JPG

Anyway, what I love about cookie dough is, it’s sweet, requires zero cooking and even almost straight out of the freezer it’s edible. It’s pretty versatile since you can eat it with pretty much anything: cereal, ice cream, yoghurt, fruit – but I love it just on it’s own. Actually, what makes it the don, is that in addition to the above, you can use it in pies, tarts, flans etc for the base, so already fifty percent of the work is done, genius.

HKM_5757.JPG

Berries of all types are a sheer treat, but strawberries are at the top end of the hierarchy since they are extremely difficult to get hold of, especially in my neck of the woods. Freeze-dried ones are even harder, which is why I almost had a heart attack when I saw them in a supermarket here as a special edition ‘foreign good’ so after I finished having a heart attack (from the overexertion of joy), I bought almost the entire shelf and ate half of it on my way back home.

HKM_5782.JPG

That nice light, crunchy, tart, sweet strawberry crisp, put together with some carbs and nuts really takes me back to a strawberry shortcake stack I ate for dessert once at some unknown, but evidently memorable restaurant and so that’s what I’m going for. Obviously it came with a lot of cream, so naturally, I’ll be having this with ice cream when I’m done, but this cookie dough is so nice, you’ve got to get the naughty in somehow.

HKM_5760.JPG

Serving size:
Roughly 10 portions

Ingredients:
• 150g dates soaked and mashed
• 50g dried strawberries soaked and mashed
• 75g ground almonds
• 75g ground cashews
• 200g ground oats
• 50g whole oats
• 50g oat flour
• 1 tbsp flaxseed oil
• 1 tbsp maple syrup
• 60g freeze dried strawberries

Method:

  1. Combine all ingredients apart from the freeze dried strawberries in a large bowl with a spoon.
  2. Remove from the bowl and knead on a flat surface.
  3. Fold in the freeze dried strawberries.
  4. Store in an airtight container and store in the refrigerator.
  5. Serve alongside cream, mousse, fruit salad and yoghurt or just nibble directly from the container.

Or enjoy your naughty but nice cookie dough with a huge dollop (or two) of ice cream.

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62617.55
ETH 2438.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67