You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook With Us #29 Budget Meals {Rice & Black Beans w/ Chipotle Mustard Sauce}

in #cookwithus6 years ago

Towards the end of the week I also use my pantry and rarely buy something. I tend to do grocery shopping on Monday and get some items if really needed during the week. Before I was purchasing products for each meal every day but I have realized just how expensive it is. If I have it in the fridge already, then I will cook something with it. If I do grocery shopping every day then I don't usually plan in advance and this is what makes it expensive.

Beans, lentils, rice and potatoes are a must in my kitchen together with garlic and onion. I can't even imagine a meal without garlic and onion :)

We should eat a little bit more greens to be honest but I find it difficult in the colder months. I tend to eat warm meals and the only greens that I can imagine in my meal would be spinach :)

Your meal looks very comforting Katie. Really like the idea! Thank you for sharing and YAY to the curie vote again! :)

Sort:  

I'm totally with you on shopping habits! I love food shopping, so if I did it every day I would definitely spend too much. I just try to enjoy my weekend trip to the market and then try to only hit the grocery store once on the weekend and maybe one other trip during the week if I really need something. Working a lot of evenings helped break that habit since I'm not home to cook every night anyway. :)

I sometimes have a little trouble with greens, too. Especially since I don't like smoothies as much in the winter time because I'm already cold enough. I try to always add some to my soups or like in this dish just wilt some in. I will try to get my potato soup that I made yesterday shared--I added chard to that and it turned out delicious!

I'm quite humbled with the curie love. It's a nice affirmation that I am sharing things of value to the community!

For some reason I thought that chard is cruciferous - no idea why. I love chard! It's very popular in Switzerland. They have so many colors of them :)

The last months I'm at home (quit my job and working on a project for next year), so it's difficult for me as I do cook everyday but I try to master my planning skills :)

It's always nice when curie stops by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57716.25
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.26