You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cook With Us #27: Soup! {Roasted Pepper & Onion Soup w/ Arugula Pesto}

in #cookwithus6 years ago

I'm like you Katie, I just simply can't make the SAME soup twice.

What a great idea to roast the veggies for the soup. I can imagine that the taste is much more intense. How silly that I have never thought about it before.

I'm not such a big fan of arugula to be honest. How does it taste in a pesto? Is it still so strong? I find it too bitter when it's raw.

Also, combination of a soup with pesto? I love your ideas!

You are so creative Katie!

Have a lovely weekend!

Sort:  

Hey Martina! Hope you are feeling well!

I have found that the arugula from the hydroponic farm is so much more tender and less bitter than what I often find in the store. It still has that peppery bite, but I really enjoy it. You could always start out a mixture of arugula and another herb or milder leafy green to see if you like the flavor. The soup itself was pretty mild (even with the jalapeno), so the bold flavor of the pesto helped brighten it all up without being overpowering.

I got lots of goodies from the market this morning, so can't wait to share more with you all next week! Enjoy your weekend, as well!

I'm feeling better, thank you Katie :)

I will have to look around farms and see if they have it. I would love to find arugula that is less bitter than the one I can find in stores.

Which herb would you suggest to combine it with? From the leafy green I can imagine it with spinach?

I haven't been to a market for such a long time! I'll have to finally do it this week :)

Spinach or kale is always a good substitute. I am also a huge fan of dill, and I think it would also pair well with the other ingredients in the soup. :)

I didn't think about kale.. it sounds like a great idea! Dill and arugula? Could be interesting! Thank you for the tips Katie!

I hope you find a combo that works for you! Definitely let me know what you come up with and how it turns out. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54