Cook with us 34 : Secret Santa: Breakfast Waffles

in #cookwithus5 years ago

Sorry for my late entry to the final week of @cookwithus. Secret Santa Edition

I had to rush off last minute to Austria to see my family in the Tyrolian Alps, my grandmother passed away and the time table for a Roman Catholic Funeral is pretty intense it involves 3 days of praying. I didn't have time for any of my usual activities, I didn't really have the desire to eat food which isn't that normal for me! My grandmother taught me so much, she spent her whole life in the garden, growing her own food and making everything from scratch. She lived to 92 and her body was pretty much in good health except the pain her back from a hard life carrying sacks of potatoes up and down the mountain.

I just got back the other day and missed the first snow to arrive but even so I still got in the christmasy spirit and visited the christmas market which isn't quite like here in Spain (it doesn't feel like xmas is coming at all here!)

One thing I always struggled with on family xmas occasions is what to eat for breakfast, i'd try to skip it and wait for the main meal but since I got a waffle maker what better breakfast solution than this....

I know my vegan friend @plantstoplanks would be down for this so I dedicate the dish to her!

xmaswaffles.jpg

Ingredients for waffles

2 cups oat flour

1 tbsp coconut flour

1.5 cup water

splash apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp baobab powder

1 tbsp lucuma powder

1 large banana or 2 small bananas

Method

Grind fine oats into a powder (set aside)

Put on tbsp coconut flour in a blender add water, splash of apple cider vinegar,

Then add the banana, lucuma & baobab & oat flour

mix until thoroughly combined

Let it sit for 5 mins whilst waiting for waffle maker to warm up

Pour into waffle maker and let it cook for a few minutes until crispy on the outside.

IMG_20181208_114218.jpg


the christmas market getting set up in the village

IMG_20181206_135143.jpg


autumn colours

IMG_20181210_083522.jpg


the snow just arriving as i'm about to leave

Thanks to @curie and @sneaky-ninja for supporting the contest! Thank you to the Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for running the comp!

celestialcowgifsml.gif

@celestialcow

Sort:  

Oh my I will have a plate of this, your waffles look amazing! Lucky @plantstoplanks, enjoy your virtual treat :)

I will virtually send you some too @lizelle merry christmas to you!

Hello, I have just featured one of your images that you recently submitted to my 7 World´s Continents Photo Challenge in today´s color challenge. Feel free to attend the post to interact with other users by answering some of the comments. Thank you. Have a great day.

ColorChallenge - Yellow Wednesday - @celestialcow in 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge!

wow thank you what an honor!

Congratulations @celestialcow! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 13000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 14000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Sorry to hear about your loss. Hang on to those precious memories!

Thank you for your Secret Santa entry! Waffles are so fun and one of my favorites for breakfast. I don't get to eat them often so I truly enjoy them when I do. Love the texture, the thickness and the fact that so many goodies can make it so delicious! Merry Christmas to you and hope you enjoy the break.

thank you for you condolences.

buying a waffle maker is the best choice ive made in a long time :) choosing the right one can be a bit of a headache!

Sorry to hear that you lost your grandmother. You are lucky to have spent time with her and learned from her. I'm sure you will cherish the experiences you shared with her.

Your waffles with oat flour sound amazing! The addition of banana will add a nice sweetness to them. What a perfect way to start the day.

The photos of the village in the Tyrolian Alps look so beautiful! What a perfect picturesque place. Thank you for sharing with us!

thank you for you condolences, i am very lucky indeed!

I tried to make the waffles without banana but they didnt come out as nice, and yes they were sweeter!

The tyrolian alps are very beautiful place, im glad you liked them :)

I would definitely be down for a plate of these!! Especially since I don't have a waffle maker, so they would be even more welcome! :) Breakfast can definitely be challenging in an omni setting since almost everything seems to have eggs in it. My boyfriend's mom is so sweet she always has tofu for me now when we stay with them so I know I'll have plenty to eat for breakfast as well as the rest of the meals we share with them.

So sorry about the loss of your grandmother. Even when it fits into the natural progression of life and death, it is still a loss that is keenly felt. This will be the third holiday season without my grandmother. She made it almost to 90, so I feel lucky to have had her in my life for so long. I still miss her dearly, especially during this time of year. I'm glad you were able to go spend time with your family to honor her memory.

me too i feel very lucky to have had my gran for so long! what a blessing for us both, i can imagine u miss ur grannie alot and that it doesnt easily just go away even after some time and im also sorry for your loss.

Tofu for breakfast sounds quite nice, i could imagine that in a wrap would be sooo good, great that ur bfs mom is so supportive!

if u do ever decide to get a waffle maker, get on with ceramic plates... so much healthier and tastier!

Well done on your @curie vote celestial cow and what a lovely Christmas recipe. Condolences on the passing of your grandmother who lived a wonderful life and for all the knowledge she passed on to you. Lovely photographs too - thank you for sharing

I am sorry to hear about your grandmother, she sounds a lot my grandmother who also had a garden and was a Roman Catholic. Unfortunately, we must say goodbye to our elders, because they cant live forever. The good thing is that thye stay in our hearts forever and I can tell you from my own experience that I feel the spirit of my grandparents always with me and you will too.

Well, and these waffles are absolutely scrumptious, I've been planing to by waffle maker for the longest time, but I keep forgetting. I have to safe recipe and try it soon as I get one. Good luck with the contest my Dear 🌸💖🌸

Sorry to hear about your grandmother. I'm a huge fan of waffles and I would gobble these up in a heartbeat!

I'm sorry for your loss. Luckily your grandmother was able to live a long and healthy life, and you have plenty of lovely memories to treasure. ❤️

Those waffles, wow, they look incredibly delicious! Something I'd expect to have in a restaurant. I hope you'll have a great Christmas with your loved ones! 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97