Cookwithus #17 Raw Zucchini and Carrot Noodles Covered With Chunky Fruits and Citrus Dressing

in #cookwithus6 years ago

This is my entry to #cookwithus # 17 thanks to @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart

raw.jpg

I have been working with a lot of fried foods even though it's vegan and vegetarian at the restaurant, the deep fryer is always busy and I can't help but put some fries in my mouth although I swore off deep fried foods a while ago.

So this week's theme of raw foods is a perfect way to encourage myself to eat something totally raw. There are some incredible deserts being made that are totally raw but I am needing some good old fruits and veggies so even though zucchini pasta is a common raw foodie thing to make, I am going to add some fruits instead of the old raw tomato sauce.

I really can't get tired of raw zucchini noodles but I also added some carrots to it for color and texture.

ezgif.com-gif-maker(1).gif

We recently moved and have nothing much that we own. We were at my inlaws and they had all of the kitchen tools. I would have made a raw sauce from the following ingredients but I have to wait until I can afford a blender and a chopper to puree anything. Meanwhile I have just chopped the fruits into small pieces and squeezed clementine juice and lemon juice and added pink salt, pepper and green onion for the dressing.

raw3.jpg

The salt mixed with the sweetness of the fruit and the tangy citrus made it taste like a full dish perfect for a sunny warm day.
raw4.jpg

I sealed the deal with some tomatoes and broccoli. The broccoli was chopped very small so the juices of the dressing would coat them properly.

raw5.jpg

This may not sound filling enough for the average person but believe me, I have a huge appetite and it was more than substantial for lunch. If I didn't have to run to work I would have loved a glass of white wine with it but that's the way it goes.

raw6.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations on your move! What a great step!

And I love your meal. Sometimes I also eat too much of fried foods and then I feel like I need going back to raw again. You have some nice presentation there too :)

Thank you! I always say if you fry a sock it would taste good but really eating raw food makes me feel the best. Some people never put anything raw in their mouth at all.

Hahaha, you are actually right :D frying makes everything delicious!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-19T19:29:45
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 391.98/400.00
Total Photos: 53
Total comments: 24
Total contest wins: 1
And have also received a 0.62 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hey @carolynstahl! It is great to see you again. Make sure you post a link to your entry in the Cook with Us #17 post. Thank you!

Thanks I actually forgot to hit the post button oops hehe!

Looks very, very tasty @carolynstahl, refreshing and wonderfully light. Enjoy your new place!

Thank you so much. The location is everything.

That is a beautiful plate of food. :) So happy to see you got your own place! At least you don't have to worry about food smells when you cook anymore. This is a great example of being able to still make a delicious and healthy meal without all the fancy kitchen tools. Great entry to the contest!

Thank you so much! I feel so free that I can spice things up and nobody is going to stop me haha. I love it.

Your salad looks absolutely great and super healthy too! I agree a glass of white wine would have gone down very nicely with that :)

Ha ha thanks I'm glad you agree on the white wine. I've had one since. Well more than one haha!

I always love to see raw recipes here on Steemit - and this one looks so super delicious on top! You truly know how to make something special with only a few ingredients and a very basic kitchen equipment 😉

What a wonderful compliment. I love the feeling of eating plenty of raw foods though I love cooking. I know soon I can incorporate more raw into my diet. The produce here isn't always good though. Excuses haha.
Thank you so much!

My pleasure ☺️ Especially for raw food the produce must be super ripe and of top quality. Health-wise this is also important for cooked meals but it definitely affects the taste in raw recipes to a greater degree.

Don't be too hard on yourself, every little healthy and raw meal is a move into the right direction 😉

Congrats!! I bet you got most of your freedom back! Have you miss ur parents in-law..haha?

Well u can't blame urself from eating fries, it's just delicious plus it's just right infornt of you.

When I saw this theme, somehow I felt that u would be so excited. It's like ur speciality preparing raw vegetarian food.

Love love love the freshness of of the vegetable and fruits, and also the crazy vibrant colour you have on the dish. Usually people crave for fried food or meat but now I'm craving for fresh pulp ,juicy , sweet fruits !

Ha ha good to hear from you. I hope all is well with you. We are so relieved to be free now. I'm glad you want fruit suddenly because you have the best stuff where you live.
Thank you Alan!

Looks amazing, fresh, light, and I bet very tasty. :)

Thank you it was tasty and surprisingly filling.

You are very welcome!

Welcome back @carolynstahl and congratulations on your move! So exciting!

Isn't it amazing how we get resourceful and creative when we don't have the gadgets we're accustomed to? Your salad turned out so nicely. Not a surprise as the ingredients that went into them are delicious by themselves. I like clementine and lemon combo for the dressing. I think it's perfect for your colorful salad.

Thanks for your wonderful raw food entry! It definitely makes a nice summer treat!

That's very encouraging and your are right about gadgets but I look forward to collecting them soon haha.
Thank you for a wonderful comment!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59201.08
ETH 2515.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50