Cookwithus #12 - Roasted Cauliflower With Eastern Spiced Barbecue Sauce And Grilled Egglplant Tomato Salad

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

This my entry to #cookwithus Thanks to @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart.

bob1.jpg

This weeks theme had two choices of sauce and grill. I chose grill since I have been grilling quite a bit lately. I am a temporary guest in my in law's house where it is difficult to get much time in the kitchen so outdoors is a great solution and quite enjoyable anyway.

Today I chose veggies instead of a vegan protein which we need a break from. The main grilled vegetable was cauliflower since it is quite a hardy thing to grill and doesn't get too soft, like it can if boiled or steamed.

bob4.jpg

I chose to do an middle eastern inspired barbecue sauce to brush on. The spices I chose were just my imagined Eastern/ Meditteranean spices for such a dish. Using a tomato pasata I added lemon juice, maple syrup, balsamic vinegar, cumin, coriander, cloves, cayenne, cinnamon paprika, onion powder, garlic powder, salt, pepper, and oregano. The sauce was heated and cooked down before brushing on the cauliflower.

bob8.jpg

Grilled eggplants, tomatoes and red onion would become a salad on the side.

bob5.jpg

I wanted to make something resembling a middle eastern type of dish so I added fresh flat leaf parsley which is often added generously to middle eastern dishes and salads.

bob6.jpg

I also added some lemon juice, chopped grilled garlic, onion powder, salt, pepper, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, and fresh oregano growing from the herb garden

bob7.jpg

It was served on a bed of couscous which was boiled in veggie broth, onion powder, cumin, oregano salt and and pepper. What I love about couscous is that is doesn't take long, However you have to be very careful with it. When I make it, I put around four cups of veggie broth and seasonings to boil than add the couscous mixing constantly with a fork. I just add enough couscous, approximately three cups, until it is just under the top of the water, . As soon as the broth boils and the couscous goes in, I turn the burner off. If left unattended it will surely clump. What makes a good couscous is if it is nice and fluffy so constant stirring until the moisture is gone is what must be done. Let it sit for about five minutes.

bob3.jpg

Since this was middle eastern inspired, I just had to drizzle one of my favorite dressings. Tahini dressing. Made from sesame paste, garlic, salt, pepper lemon juice and olive oil. This sauce is used all over the middle east and Mediterranean. I have also had it in Egypt where it was a popular thing in restaurants there. When I make it, I always add a good dollop of tahini, and a few cloves of garlic. I like to add lemon juice a little at a time to the blender so It doesn't end up too tangy keeping it balanced with the nuttiness of the sesame paste and the other ingredients.

bob1.jpg

signature.jpg

Sort:  

humm this looks really yummy dear, hope you ejoy it..

Thank you my friend it was really good!

Hi carolynstahl,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

This is most appreciated! Thank you ever so much!

What a superb entry! I like the fact that this is a vegan bbq. Your presentation is amazing. Good luck this week.

Thanks very much for your lovely compliment!

Looks delicious! Your plating is stunning!

Beautiful entry @carolynstahl, good luck with the contest!

Ah thanks so much @lizelle!

I was waiting for your entry, thinking that you grill vege very often! I had a herb garden many times, but always it died after sometime.bnot sure what's the caused. It's nice you have one, they look very healthy.

The colour in your dish is just stunning! And congrats on being the chosen person who gets the upvote from curie twice a month,i envy you !

Thanks so much. I usually kill my plants but my mother in law is a green thumb. I don't know anything about curie and what it is about. I really don't get it at all. But I am quite thankful.

That’s something good of your mother in law !!!! I need her knowledge!!!

Despite not knowing much about cutie, cutie seem to like you a lot ahaha

I got lucky I'm sure.

And don't forget very good content

Thanks for your support Alan!

Isn't it midnight in Canada?

My last message was after one in the morning. We were up late.

Congratulations on your prize! Amazing but well deserved! 😃👍🏻

Oh thank you so much @pusteblume!

What a beautiful dish and it sounds so tasty! I think cauliflower is such a great main course vegetable. Glazed with the bbq sauce the cauliflower must of been so savory. I like how you served this with couscous and how you finished it off with tahini. Very nice dish! And congratulations on getting some big upvotes! Well deserved!

This compliment means very much to me. Thank you so much @chefsteve!

Yay for the whale upvotes!!!

I'll have to try this grilled cauliflower with Eastern/Meditteraenan spices. It looks so flavorful and delicious! I bet it smelled good too. Like you, I love tahini dressing and can imagine how it worked wondefully well over the grilled cauliflower. Your side salad and couscous look delicious as well. A great plate altogether!

Thanks for your recipe and tips! Next time I make couscous, I'll try it your way.

Oh that's wonderful. I really appreciate that awesome comment. It was really tasty. Tahini dressing is to me almost drinkable haha.

Thank you very much @offoodandart!

Drinkable ... yeah, that seems right. Ha! ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69262.56
ETH 3778.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51