Cook with Us #27- Pumpkin soup

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_20181020_145519.jpg

Greetings fellow Steemians!
I prepared Pumpkin soup this week on Cook with Us. I would like to thank @offoodandart, @pandamama and @chefsteve for hosting this great cooking challenge. I would also like to thank to @curie and other voters for their generous support. And of course big thanks to all the donators.

photo.jpg
Photo source: https://www.offset.com/photos/hokkaido-pumpkin-and-cleaver-629330

Hokkaido pumpkins are recommended for people with diseases such as inflammation of the kidneys or bladder and diabetes. Pumpkins are an excellent source of potassium and vitamin C, which strengthens our immune system and deflects flu and also contains a huge amount of antioxidant beta-carotene. Otherwise, the Hokkaido pumpkin is rich in fiber and other vitamins and minerals.

Ingredients:
1 Hokkaido pumpkin
1 onion
3 cloves of garlic
1 yellow carrot
3 potatoes
1 l of water
1 tablespoon of oil
0,5 teaspoon of salt
sweet ground paprika
curry
pepper
2 tablespoons of pumpkin seeds
2 tablespoons of cooking cream

IMG_20181020_123517.jpg

Cut off the top of Hokkaido pumpkin and clean out the seeds. Cut out the inside of the pumpkin using a small knife and a tablespoon. Be careful not to damage the pumpkin shell because we will use it later as a serving bowl.
Chop the onion. Heat up a tablespoon of oil in a pot and add onion. Chop 3 cloves of garlic and put it in the pot. Add sliced pumpkin and sliced carrot and braise it for 10 minutes. Add 1 l of water and 3 potatoes cutted on small bite sized cubes. Add 0,5 teaspoon of salt, sweet ground paprika, curry and pepper and boil it for 35- 40 minutes on low temperature then blend it with a stick blender.

IMG_20181020_142231.jpg

Heat a dry pan over medium heat. Add pumpkin seeds. Shake and stir the seeds constantly as they are toasting to prevent burning. When the pumpkin seeds begin to pop open, and release their aroma, they are done.
Pour the soup in the pumpkin shell and decorate it with roasted seeds and cooking cream.

IMG_20181020_145456.jpg

Sort:  

I'm always looking for new pumpkins and squashes to try. I will have to look for Hokkaido pumpkins. Beautiful presentation!

Thank you!
Hokkaido are my favorite pumpkins! They can be used in main dish, side dish or also in desserts.
Have fun researching! 😺

I don't know that I have tried Hokkaido pumpkin yet, but this soup sure does look delicious! I'll have to keep an eye out for that variety. And I love that you presented it in the empty squash. A perfect serving dish!

Thanks 😺
I used a similar recipe for a soup in the empty pumpkin shell for a pumpkin festival and it was
quite a lot successful.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Thank you for resteem! 😺😺😺

I love everything pumpkin, this soup looks delicious! Wish you the best!

This is so gorgeous, love your presentation @blackberryskunk!

Very beautifully presented @blackberryskunk. I love pumpkin soup. At the moment my daughter and I are on a soup diet - eating various soups for dinner every night - so I'll definitely try your out

Hokkaido ... good to know. I will give it a shot next time around. I love all the different varieties that abound. They're getting more accessible now and that's just great.

Wonderful and beautiful entry as usual @blackberryskunk. The soup sounds flavorful, comforting and perfect for fall weather. Love the roasted pumpkin seeds to give it some texture! Thanks for your entry and good luck!

Cool, another pumpkin that I need to try. I like how simple your soup is and that the focus is on the pumpkin flavor. Your presentation is just stunning with the pumpkin and the fall leaves! Thanks for sharing your recipe with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59608.09
ETH 2475.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46