Cook With Us Week #16 – Pizza!! Pesto with Maple Glazed Onions

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0116 (2).jpg

Good day My Steemian Friends! It’s Pizza Week!


Week #16 of the Cook With Us Cooking Challenge.


Before we begin, I want to offer a special thanks to @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart! So many amazing entries, I’m sure it's not easy to choose just one winner! I think I can safely say we all appreciate the opportunity to share the creations we love to make!


Pizza!

Who doesn’t like pizza?


Originated in Italy, Pizza was first brought to the United States by Italian immigrants in the 19th century. It was popular in Chicago, New York, Philadelphia and St. Louis among the Italian communities. This all changed, love for pizza became widespread after WW II when soldiers who had been stationed in Italy returned to America. After enjoying local Italian pizza, they brought their love for Pizza back with them.


Growing up In my family, pizza was a special treat. Eating pizza meant making pizza at home, playing Monopoly and watching The Wild Wild West! Yes, this does date me a bit This was a special family night. We did this every Friday night and it was great! Even after we were married and had children, we often enjoyed Friday night pizza. Now, I find it is difficult to find good “carry-out” pizza. I guess that means it's time to make it myself!


Making a good pizza with healthy ingredients is very important. The crust is critical. Light, not too thick… and slightly crisp! Fresh ingredients are a must!

todaysjourney.jpg

Pizza with Pesto and Maple Glazed Onions

I Used!

Crust

  • 3/4 cup filtered water
  • 1 tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 1 tablespoon Maple Syrup
  • 1 ½ teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1 tablespoon Almond Milk
  • 2 ½ cups Bread Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Active dry yeast

Pesto

  • 1½ cup fresh Spinach
  • 3 cloves fresh garlic
  • ¾ cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 3/4 cup Nutritional Yeast
  • 1 cup Walnuts
  • 1 Tablespoon Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 3/4 teaspoon Sea Salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon Cayenne Pepper

Toppings

  • 1 Onion sliced
  • 1 Tablespoon Maple Syrup
  • Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 6 Roasted Sweet Peppers
  • 6 Baby Bella Mushrooms (sliced)
  • ½ cup Black Olives (sliced)
  • Daiya PepperJack Shredded Cheese
  • 1 Fresh Tomato
  • Oregano
  • Pepper
  • Salt

Prep


I start with the Pizza crust! Combine 2 cups of the flour with remaining dry ingredients in a large bowl. Pour in water (water should be about 80 degrees- not too hot or you will destroy the yeast!) Mix well. Dough will be sticky. Add the remaining flour and knead on lightly floured surface until dough is smooth (about 5 minutes. Place the dough into a clean bowl, cover and let rise until the size has doubled (about ½ hour) Punch the dough down, divide in two pieces. I cover and let rise again while I start the Pesto!


  • Place all Pesto ingredients in your food processor.

DSC_0070 (2).jpg
  • Process until smooth. Set this aside!
    DSC_0073 (2).jpg
  • Drizzle Olive Oil over cleaned/sliced peppers. Bake at 425 degrees for 25 minutes or until Skins on peppers darken. Set these aside!

DSC_0082 (2).jpg

  • Slice the onions and saute in Olive Oil until translucent. Add 1 tablespoon Maple syrup and continue to cook until slightly golden. I like to add a dash of Cayenne pepper! Set these aside!
    DSC_0085 (2).jpg
  • Saute sliced Bella Mushrooms in Olive Oil for 10 minutes. Set aside.

  • Slice the tomato, sprinkle with Oregano, salt and pepper. Place in 425 degree oven for 8 minutes. (This allows some of the extra water to bake out of the tomato. I find it intensifies the tart tomato taste!

  • Roll out the dough and place dough on baking sheet which has been lightly sprinkled with cornmeal. Place dough in 425 degree oven for 5 minutes.

Now we assemble!

  • Spread a light coating of pesto sauce on top of the pizza crust. Follow with Mushrooms, Roasted Peppers, Black Olives, Onions, tomatoes, sprinkle with Nutritional yeast, and top with cheese.

DSC_0105 (2).jpg

  • Place in oven for 12 minutes. I move the pizza to the top rack for the last 2 minutes. This will brown the cheese and the crust nicely

DSC_0125 (2).jpg

Enjoy!

DSC_0128 (2).jpg


Easy to make, and with healthy, fresh ingredients! I hope you’ll enjoy! Thanks again @cookwithus, and best of luck to all!


Thanks for stopping by!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! Mmmm I can see why dad loved it! This looks fantastic!! Congrats on the curie vote 😘😻

Thanks so much, surprises every day! ox you are too sweet! :)

This pizza looks magnificent - and well-deserved curie vote @birdsinparadise

You are so kind, thank you...and yes very surprised about the curie vote :) It was fun to create I must say!

Beautiful pizza, looks delicious!

Thank you @lizelle! It was fun to make. Hubby gave it a thumbs up so that is always good. :)

AJ picked your post @birdsinparadise for his #TOP5 FOOD POST. Visit AJ's FOOD ROUNDUP to view where your post is ranked.


You can also join The-Kitchen Discord Server for more food experience.

Thank you so much! What a wonderful surprise this morning, I am honored!

This pizza just looks so appetizing! Your crust is so interesting with the almond milk and maple syrup. I would very much like to try that. I imagine that this pizza had a really nice sweet and salty flavor to it. Thank your for sharing your version of pizza with us!

Thanks so much! It was pretty tasty ;) Yes, the almond milk and the maple syrup do add a bit of flavor to the crust. I usually like to add herbs to the crust but I thought there was enough going on with the pesto, onions... I appreciate your encouraging words!

Yumm-mmy! I love your base sauce, the spinach pesto. And everything came together nicely to make a delicious pizza. A bit of maple syrup to go with the onions sounds like a great idea. I have to remember this for next time.

By the way, @jaybird won't be our guest judge until Week #21 but we are looking forward to him joining us. It should be a lot of fun!

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It was a joy to make! I think you would love the maple onions, adds another layer of flavor to the pizza! Oh dear, sorry for the mis-statement about @jaybird....if you wish, I would be glad to correct my post!! :)

No problem about the @jaybird statement. Correct if you want to but not a big deal.

I'm sure I'll love the maple onions! I can almost taste it :).

I have seen in the contest many healthy pizzas that do not lose that juiciness and delicious appearance

Your pizza has a favorite ingredient pesto is the best I've tried and I must do it with pizza

Thank you! I do hope you will try the pesto. My husband loved it (and I too!) Just the right amount of juicy! Let me know if you try! :)

That's how it looks really good

I hope to try it soon I am anxious to have a little more time and enter

Thank you so much! I hope you'll try!

yes of course very soon

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-07-15T21:01:24
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 531.25/200.00
Total Photos: 85
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.14 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64512.68
ETH 2615.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82