Cook With Us! #19 | Break Fast! Blueberry Maqui Smoothie Bowl

DSC_0067 (2).jpg

Good day my Steemian Foodie Friends!


Another great week of Cook With Us Fun! I want to begin by giving a big thanks to @chefsteve, @pandamama and @offoodandart for hosting this wonderful community of talented Steemians. Such a great forum for sharing ideas, wisdom and good food! It’s week 19 and we have been challenged to create our vision for …..


Break-fast

Typically the first meal we eat after a night of rest, usually eaten in the morning before we start our day. Did you know originally the Old English word for dinner means to break a fast and was not the first meal eaten in the day! By the 15th century everything had changed and the term "morgenmete" was used to describe the meal of the morning.


What did our early ancestors eat?


Archeologists studying early ancient sites in present day Jordan have found breakfast for the Natufian culture consisted of baked flatbreads typically made of rye, wheat, oats or lentils. These grains were often ground by stone and cooked to form a porridge. The Romans called breakfast jentaculum, and consisted of bread, cheese, olives, nuts and raisins. Early records indicate this breakfast was typically eaten around 3:30 or 4 am! That’s a little early wouldn’t you say?


Fast forward to today, and breakfast can be just about anything! I remember growing up we had cereal each morning. Remember the “breakfast of champions”, Wheaties? But now my to plan start my day or breaking fast is with a healthy juice or smoothie. Vitamins and fiber from fresh fruits and vegetables can’t be beat! I love the way I feel after enjoying a good morning mixture of fresh fruits, vegetables, nuts and plant based milk!


I also love to incorporate Maqui in my smoothie. Maqui contains antioxidants which help fight heart disease, arthritis, high blood pressure and many inflammatory diseases. As I get older and am faced with occasional aches and pains and eating this way has made a huge improvement in the way I feel! Today let’s enjoy a breakfast which incorporates all of that!

todaysjourney.jpg

Blueberry Maqui Smoothie Bowl


Ingredients

  • Fresh Coconut Yogurt
  • Fresh Granola
  • Spinach
  • Avocado
  • Maqui Powder
  • Blueberries
  • Starfruit
  • Frozen Bananas

Prep

Coconut Yogurt


A couple of days ago I started my coconut yogurt! It is wonderful to know you can make your own yogurt! Placed 1 can full fat coconut in a blender and blended fully, stirred in 2 capsules probiotic powder and transferred to a glass jar. Covered this with cheesecloth and let it sit for 48 hours. After 48 hours I placed the jar in the fridge to thicken further.


DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Granola!


I love making my own granola. It’s fresh, no preservatives and you can make it with different nuts and dried fruit each time! This granola consisted of mixing oats, almonds, pepitas, raisins, maple syrup, fresh coconut and Coconut oil.

IMG_4541.JPG


Bake for 20 minutes and YUM!


IMG_4551.JPG

Now to assemble!

I washed all of the fruit, chopped the avocado placed all ingredients in your favorite blender. Blend until smooth. You may need to add additional nut milk if it is thicker than you like

DSC_0038 (2).jpg


Pour your smoothie in your favorite bowl, garnish with granola and star fruit and enjoy!

Bon Apetite my Friends

DSC_0056 (2).jpg

A great way to start your day, Enjoy!


DSC_0082 (2).jpg

Thanks so much for stopping by! As well, thanks again to the @cookwithus Team! Best wishes!

And as always, blessings to all!
loveyourself.jpg

steemusa1.png

SS-pansies-EN-edged.jpg

echotrain.jpg

Sort:  

looks amazing! great photography- love the lighting. a very nice place to be indeed!

Thank you! I think you would have loved this goodie! Full of lots of love and energy...will be ready when you visit :)

Great recipe @birdsinparadise and so beautifully executed - well done

Thanks so much @pandamama, nothing complicated I know, but healthy! Thank you for your kind comments, truly appreciated.

Yes!! This is really a perfect way to start the day!! So healthy, filled with vitamins and nutrients, and super easy to prepare! I also love the facts you added in the beginning, oh girl, you are so talented and I wish I had this breakfast every morning!!!

lol, You are too kind my friend. Nothing like the gourmet creations you share with us, but thank you so much. You certainly know how to make someone smile! Good to hear from you! Haven't seen much of you and your little helper lately, all the best to you both! :)

Yes I havent had the time really to keep in touch here on Steemit lately, much personal stuff and being away on holiday in Sweden without much internet at all! But we are back now, and I hope to post more from now on again!! I have been missing hanging around here with you and all the other steemians!!!
xx
Thank you darling!

Yum! I agree with you...homemade granola is so much better! I'm going to have to try to incorporate maqui into my diet! Thank you for the inspiration @birdsinparadise.

You are sweet, thank you @loveself :) You always have such uplifting words!

Wow, that looks delicious! I make my own yogurt too but have not heard of coconut yogurt. You got me really curious now and hope to try making it someday.

Here's another dish using maqui powder. I have bought some but haven't tried it.

The granola looks wonderful. Love the texture it brings to the smoothie. Top with fresh fruit and voila ... a complete breakfast that really looks filling and flavorful!

I know, the first time I made yogurt I was amazed it was so easy...using dairy milk and a yogurt starter with my dehydrator...to use the coconut milk and probiotic powder...so easy! I hope you'll try it! I hope you'll enjoy it and let me know your thoughts! Thanks for your kind words :)

MMM yummy and beautiful presentation as usual!

Thank you my dear friend! I consider that a true compliment based upon your amazing creations :)

Well now I don't feel so odd getting up at 4:30 for work and eating breakfast. 😂 This looks like a great start to the day!

Oh my, you too? Wow, I am impressed! I used to get up at 5:30 to run....but not so much now :) Thanks so much my friend !

I have a few days a week when I have clients starting at 6:30 or 6:45 AM, so those days I am up before the sun! If I have my choice, usually I wake up right around 6. ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-04T21:54:00
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 628.75/200.00
Total Photos: 100
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 1.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

@birdsinparadise your breakfast smoothie bowl is so beautiful and sounds so delicious! That is so cool that you make your own coconut yogurt! I have to try that soon! Your photos are amazing and they really tell the story of your dish! Thanks for your entry

Thank you @chefsteve, you are so kind! I hope you'll try making the yogurt. Great themes for this season! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59035.93
ETH 2519.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47