Cook with Us #23 -Watermelon Poke Bites

in #cookwithus6 years ago (edited)

IMG_1916.JPG

For sometime now, my daughter has been singing the praises of the new food craze Poke Bowls. Now, even before I converted to Veganism, I was never a fan of raw fish. Basically, in the Southern United States, if your fish wasn't battered and fried then something was definitely wrong with you. No one was going to eat that stuff.

But, one day, I stumbled across a marinade for Tuna Poke. My first instinct was to say, "Yuck!" (Afterall, it was raw fish.) But I after taking a second look at the ingredients, I must admit that the combination of fresh ginger, lime juice, tamari, garlic, toasted sesame oil, chili pepper and tahini sounded flavorsome. So, I whipped up a batch of marinade..adding some organic white miso for an added flavor boost. And, I used lemon juice instead of lime because that's what I had in my fridge. No one has time to run to the market in the middle of a recipe inspiration! :) It worked just fine for that fresh citrusy flavor.

Now that my marinade was flavored to my satisfaction, I had to decide what exactly I was going to marinade. My usual go to would be a firm tofu. And, while that would indeed work, I had an end of season watermelon that was just begging to be eaten. So, I gave that melon it's wish, cubed it and coated it with marinade.
IMG_1853.JPG

Then, I slow roasted the melon for about an hour until it was silky and flavorful. After letting it rest in the fridge overnight, it was ready to plate.

IMG_1914.JPG

Sticky sushi rice, black sesame seeds, edamame, avocado and watermelon radish rounded out this bite sized Watermelon Poke. These little babies have a bit of a bite and will have all your guests clamoring for more!

It.

Has.

All.

The Flavor!

IMG_1919.JPG

Until later, all the best my fellow Steemians!

Hi, I'm Benita G. You may also know me as, or call me, @AtMemesTable.

Hope you loved this post. Now, make me a happy girl and upvote my post and follow me.

I would love to have the opportunity to talk to you and to get to know you and you me. Check me out later! 'Cause you'd best believe that I'm going to be checking you out! Find me @AtMemesTable.

See you tomorrow!

Sort:  

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-03T11:57:48
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 84.45/100.00
Total Photos: 14
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=atmemestable
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=cook-with-us-23-watermelon-poke-bites


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

A beautiful and tasty bite I'm sure! I don't know if I have ever seen watermelon prepared that way before. Genius!

Hi @atmemestable! Could you please provide a proof photo? Since your dish would be gone by now, maybe add a photo with one of the ingredients and include your name, the name of the dish and the date. Thank you!

Great way to serve watermelon - one of my favourite fruits @atmemestable

Wow! The colors on this appetizer is visually stunning. The marinade sounds so savory and packed full of umami flavors from the miso and tamari. The saltiness from the marinade complements the sweetness of the watermelon and watermelon radishes are my favorite. Good luck!

This is such a creative and delicious looking bite! It is just stunning to look at. I think the poke marinade with watermelon would taste so good! Congratulations for advancing to week 2! Good luck!

I have never heard of making and preparing watermelon this way! But it has avocado in it? I absolutely LOVE avocados! I bet this is a real unique flavor.

Delicious @atmemestable! I love your creativity. Your dish looks wonderful, flavorful and a delight to eat. It has a variety of textures as well. Love the substitution of roasted watermelon and the addition of the creamy avocado on the black sesame-covered rice. A great hors d'oeuvres!

Thanks for your entry and congratulations on making it to Round 2!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99