Cookin' Mama's Kitchen : Ginger Chicken Soup

~welcome to my kitchen!~

bonapp1.jpg

Hello there! Welcome to a new recipe straight from my kitchen to your face! This soup is for my kids and I. Since we haven't been able to get rid of whatever funk we're in, it is designed to be on the light and healthy side. Plus who doesn't love chicken soup on a cold day. Alrighty, let's hop to it.


==Ginger Chicken Soup Recipe==


Ingredients


  • Ginger root [chunked]
  • Chicken [cut and preseasoned to your liking. I chunked 1 chicken breast + put salt and pepper]
  • Vegitables [cut to your liking, any shape will do.]
  • I like cutting everything bite sized unless it is already bite size or there for color. In this recipe I used :
    Purple and yellow carrots[thickly sliced, round], celery[thickly sliced, 'c' shapes], garlic[whole,smashed], spinach[whole], potatos[chunked small],zuccini[diced medium], red bell pepper[diced small], and corn kernels.
  • water[ or veg/chicken stalk]
    *garlic powder, salt and pepper to taste

ginchicksu.jpg


Procedure


  1. Once all ingredients are portioned and prepped to your liking, set aside and heat up your pot on medium high heat to boil. I like to add a bit of salt and oil to speed up this process as well as the ginger root and garlic cloves. It also seasons the water and everything you're about to put into it. The more flavorful the water, the more flavorful the soup. You can replace water with vegetable or chicken stalk for extra flavor points. I could have made some or bought some but this recipe was on the fly, straight from my head to the stovetop so I didn't really prepare for that. I suggest making your own veg/chicken stalk before hand, it's much easier than you think and you can find tons of recipes online but I make my stalk from the vegetable scraps I have after prepping said vegetables for consumption, adding dried shroomage, or other herbs for that extra umami [the savory component].

  2. Once your water has come to a boil, slightly turn down the heat to a medium and add your denser veggies such as carrots, potato, etc. These will need more time to cook depending how well done you enjoy your vegetables. For me, I like my carrots and celery as tender as possible unless it's in a stir-fry.

  3. Once you see the potatoes are becoming translucent, go ahead and add the chicken. A foam will most likely form which I like to skim off with a metal soup spoon and discard. At this point, your soup should start looking bubbly and bright, depending on ingredients combined. Mine turned a bright pinkish color thanks to the purple carrots I used.

  4. Once the chicken is opaque and fully cooked, now is a great time to taste your creation. I always taste as I go and add ingredients accordingly. I added a bit of salt and pepper to my liking then proceeded to add the more delicate ingredients such as diced red bell pepper,frozen corn,zuccini and spinach. At this point the stove is turned to its lowest setting but you can turn the stove completely off if you want as the temperature of the soup is sufficient enough to cook these delicate veggies.

  5. Lastly, do your final taste test before serving to others or placing into your bowl. I like to leave room for whomever I'm cooking for to add their own herbs and spices which I'd place on the table. Things like garlic oil, chili oil, lemon, cilantro, green onion, sriracha, etc. I kept it simple this time since my main goal is to feed my little kids and the simpler the flavors, the more likely they'll eat it.


bonapp2.jpg


I hope you've enjoyed this little recipe! Thanks for reading it. Have an awesome day <3

Banner_1.png

Sort:  

Yummy!
This sounds/looks amazing!
I will be making it for sure👍
Thank you!

You are very welcome! I'm so glad you enjoyed this recipe and you're willing to try it out! It tastes great on it's own but I always encourage anyone to mix it up as well. Don't be afraid to add something you think might taste good with it ♥ also, if that's the case be sure to start off experimental flavoring in a separate bowl just in case it muddies up the flavor profile. Take care 👋😊🌸

I will let you know how it turns out 😃

I think this delicious chicken soup is what you need on a cold winter day. + Ginger provides an additional warm side now. Thanks for the recipe!

Hey my dear I am hungry right now while looking at your receipe for the day. Is your kid a vegetarian?

Hi! Nope my kids do enjoy veggies but love meat as well. Which is funny because they do get picky so it gets confusing sometimes haha. One moment they're chomping down cucumbers, the next they're asking me for pepperoni. I always make sure to give them a variety then I consume their leftovers 😁 no waste (unless it's thrown on the floor, then I wish I had a doggy ♥)

hhahah yeah like me i just choose the meat than veggies. But you know what my daughter eat anything or any viand serve in the table either meat or veggies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58415.58
ETH 2485.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39