A trip to the market and slow cooked ribs. Pt. 1

in #cooking8 years ago

I have been off work for the last couple weeks and have seen a ton of cooking posts on Steemit, so I decided to try my hand at making one. I am by no means a chef, writer or photographer but, I figured I'd try one out . Any suggestions on how I can improve any of these aspects of this post let me know, I always want to improve.

To begin I like it when posts show where the ingredients are bought or made or bartered for, so I'll include some snap shots of the store that I went to. I live outside of Nashville Tennessee and this is the supermarket that I shop at most of the time:

The first stop was the meat department. I like pork ribs so that is what I decided to get tonight. Check out the pork section of the market i go to:

We have several different cuts of ribs here in the U.S. but tonight I decided to go with a slab of St. Louis-Style Spareribs and a slab of Baby Back Ribs (pork loin back ribs). The next stop was the BBQ sauce section of the super market, as Tennessee is in the South we have a pretty large selection of BBQ sauces most are tomato based but there are mustard based sauces and vinegar based sauces. I chose a tomato based sauce that claims to be sweet and hot.

I chose this one never having tried it before.

(Didn't think of taking a picture of it before I started prepping the ribs)

Next stop was the spice section. I wanted to put a rub on the ribs to add flavor and keep the sauce use down a bit. In a slow cooker the juices of the meat and any sauces you add combine and can get kind of watery, I will add more sauce to the ribs once they are done in the slow cooker .Here is the spice and rub section of the store.

I chose this rub.

With shopping cart full I head to the check out. Here is the haul:

The sushi in there is for my daughter (California roll), I also got some Sierra Nevada Pale Ale cause I'm cooking ribs and you have to have beer to do that, then there is a Cuban soft drink called Iron Beer, some creme soda, and some slow cooker liners for easy clean up.

Now we move to my kitchen and the photos get harder to take as while prepping the ribs my hands got pretty greasy so had to wash them every time I took a picture but it's pretty good practice to have clean hands while you cook any way. Here are all the ingredients Slab of Baby Back Ribs, a slab of St.Louis-Style Ribs, BBQ sauce, and pork rub.

First step is to rinse the ribs off, I use cold water and just kinda wash the slab. I like to remove the membrane on the bone side of the slab and cut the slab into a couple of pieces here are the Baby Back ribs with the membrane on:

and here we have it with membrane removed and the slab cut into smaller portion.

Next up the St. Louis-Style...same thing membrane removed, and cut into smaller sections for the slow cooker.

Time for the rub, I stacked up the rib sections and gave them all a thorough covering of the pork rub tried to use it pretty generously, both sides and the ends of the bones. The rub really changed the color of the ribs.

Time for a light covering of sauce. Like I said don't want to add too much sauce they will get more added to them after the slow cooker.

And in to the slow cooker they go.

You may have noticed that I labeled this as pt. 1 that is because these ribs are still cooking now, they will stay in the slow cooker for 10 hours and then I will move on to the next steps. I will go sneak a picture of them since they have been cooking (yes I know you're not supposed to let the heat out but it is for art I swear)
Ok here is the picture born in sin they ave cooked for about 2.5 hours now.

Ok Pt. 2 tomorrow as I said please comment with any picture, content, cooking or writing tips.
I may even add a messy beard picture after I get to eat these bad boys cause ribs are kinda hard to eat neatly with a big beard.

Sort:  

Ok the shopping cart wasn't full , my bad.
Vid

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61205.14
ETH 3376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51