You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Island of Misfit Cast Iron Cookware

in #cooking6 years ago

That's true @prydefoltz, I do find I have to look pretty hard to unearth a treasure. What's pretty neat is there are a couple of really solid companies in the USA that have started up extremely high quality cast iron projects. Lodge is lodge and is pretty ok but their finish will always have that microscopically maddeningly stippled feel. Mind you, that finish is as non stick as any other and some aficionados claim the slightly rougher finish creates superheated air pockets which makes it even more non stickish. Jury's out on that one lol. Check out The Field Company and Stargazer. They make some of the best in the business now!

Sort:  

I have a couple good ones but when I was in Spain it was impossible to find one and I had to look near and far to get the ones I have now:) The seem to push the non-stick on us these days. Cast iron lasts forever and non-stick must be replaced every few years ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58665.81
ETH 3153.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44