Almond Bread Baked In 15 Minutes!

in #cooking6 years ago

IMG_5698.jpg

I needed a carb free alternative

so I could have something resembling a sandwich from time to time. I'm eating a low carb style these days and I was kinda missing out a little on the bread end of things.

IMG_5697.jpg

SO! I was very thankful when I fired up a conversation with someone doing the same eating style and we were furiously swapping notes after one of my gigs up in Peterborough last week.

I wasn't really sure I would be able to pull it off

right away because I needed almond flour and typically, at least for me, I have found it to be pretty expensive.

BUT!

I felt super blessed because guess what I saw

when I stopped by Costco while in Peterborough? You guessed it!! A huge bag of almond flour at a steal of a price. I wanted to run out of the store screaming, 'Start the carrrrrrr!!!' Except I'm the only one who drives my car and I don't have auto start. So some poor stranger would have been furiously trying to get their key in the ignition and that's just not cool to do to people lol.

IMG_5701.jpg

I would never have believed

that I could make a carb free bread in 15 minutes from scratch but I have done it a few times and I also took my friend's advice and fried it after baking it to give it an amazing texture.

Here's the recipe I scooped off the winterwebs, or should I say springerwebs now????? Weather's gettin' nice!!

50 grams almond flour (6 tablespoons but I hate counting)
2 eggs
1 tsp baking powder (I recommend grinding with fingers)
2 tablespoons of oil (I have recently fallen in love with Avocado oil!)
Pinch of salt to taste

Fork it like a madman/madwoman/madboy/madgirl/madchild/manchild

Bake 10 minutes or so at 375 OR you can do it in the micro for 90 seconds.

IMG_5692.jpg

IMG_5693.jpg

Bit of a tip

Use any small baking thing you have

and pour in the batter. I lucked out by having kept all of the little insert pans from a sandwich press that went to sandwich press heaven a few months ago. Loved that thing, it was super hot.

I also read about several people suggesting tapping the pan several times pretty firmly to get out any bubbles or air pockets. Works like a charm. Nice, dense, lovely 'bread' that I can let cool and then slice and make a nice sandwich with.

Bon Appetit!!

Come on by the MASH 4077th Discord anytime to say hello.

You're not alone in this world.

In case no one told you today, you're beautiful.

Love,
Bug

Sort:  

Really its true word
One cannot think well, love well and sleep well if one has not dined well.
You made me hungry

Hey @thebugiq didn't know they had Carb Free bread. Wow, that sounds really awesome :)

Whoaaaa this is COOL. I like to see you doing some food posts haha. I had no idea you could make bread from almond flour-did it have the texture of bread or a biscuit?

Also don’t you love it when the stars align and the supermarket has just the items on sale that you need for a planned recipe?! It makes my day haha

Lovely post and interesting!

Hey thanks :) It's a bit of a weird one for texture. It's honestly unto its own. I would definitely always fry it in something you like (butter, avocado oil) but it's allllmoost like a very different corn bread? Without the cornbread taste? Gosh, I hope you try it out so you can let me know.

Pretty grateful for my huge bag of almond flour on the cheap! :D

Haha can I blame you if it tastes like crap then :P

I'm good with that...so long as you fry it like that and maybe do a little bacon, avocado & chicken thing :)

Hahaha doing that essentially GUARANTEES that it'll taste good. What doesn't taste good with bacon, avocado AND chicken?!

I may just try this recipe:)I love to eat low-carb as well:)

For anyone wanting to make this vegan you can use 3 tablespoons of aqua faba (the fluid left in canned garbanzo beans/ chickpeas ) instead of the eggs. Make sure you beat it fluffy first it will fluff up the texture ...

This post, with over $50.00 in bidbot payouts, has received votes from the following:

upme payout in the amount of $61 STU, $106 USD.

For a total calculated bidbot upvote value of $61 STU, $106 USD before curation, with approx. $15 USD curation being earned by the bidbots.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform @thebugiq and is by no means a judgement of your work.

Such a simple recipe. Thank you for posting this. I have been looking for similar recently but it is good to see a recipe that has been tested by someone in a normal kitchen and not some wizz bang test kitchen somewhere

Hey, just happened to see your post. I am on a very restricted diet. Can have absolutely no simple carbs or sugars. Metabolic disorder. So will give your bread a try in the morning. thanks. Blessings.

It's good to avoid some carbs sometimes isn't it?

it's interesting
Thankful

thanks, have a greate today

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60991.61
ETH 2921.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56