British Classics - Corned Beef Hash.

in #cooking6 years ago

Thought I should share another UK classic food recipe with you.

Before I begin, please note that 'Corned Beef Hash' has many, many variations and everyone has their own take on it. For example, my wife made it and it was completely different to the way that I do it, not saying it wasn't equally delicious, just a different take. So here is my version of the great British classic, corned beef hash.

The first step in making corned beef hash is to get 5 or 6 good sized white potatoes, peel them and boil them slowly in a pan until they are quite soft and ready for mashing.

Once ready, I open a tin of corned beef (Usually we buy the expensive stuff but when it comes to putting it in the hash, we prefer the cheaper versions, two reasons, 1. You can't tell the difference. 2. The cheaper ones are more fatty and mash better.

Cutting the corned beef into chunks, I add to the potatoes, along with a good dollop of butter and mash together, in this version I also added half a tin of baked beans we had left over in the fridge. Now normally I would add cooked onions chopped up but as my son doesn't like them, I omitted them.



I then put the mixture in an oven proof dish, pat it out and then criss cross the top with a fork, this creates ridges that then go crispy. Once done, it's in the oven for 30-40 minutes until golden brown, I tend to go by the colour rather than the timing on this part.

Once ready, I serve with peas, and/or red cabbage. I also like it with pickled beetroot. And that's it.. my take on Corned Beef Hash.

Thanks for reading.

Get More Upvotes and Cryptocoins with Kryptonia

Sign up for Kryptonia.io SIGNUP HERE

Exchange Steem for Superiorcoins

Send 1 Steem to @socialmediaseo and include your Kryptonia ID for 2100 Superiorcoins direct in your Kryptonia account.

Want More Followers and Upvotes

Join the #Steemengine today HERE



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://blog.socialmediaseoservices.co.uk/blog/british-classics-corned-beef-hash/
Sort:  

Congratulations @socialmediaseo ! You received a 16% upvote from @kryptoniabot & @kryptonia for your task of 3500 SUP Today.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

Run a task on Kryptonia.*Join free here Kryptonia Account
Use the tags KRYPTONIA or SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post.

Delegate to the Kryptonia Upvote by clicking links: 10SP , 50SP , 100SP , 500SP , 1000SP

Due to an increased amount of tasks, we have changed up the voting power to evenly spread out the Upvote amount.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63283.09
ETH 2463.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54